Review » Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

9680718Half-Blood
By Jennifer L. Armentrout
Release Date: 10/18/11
Published by Spencer Hill Press
Genre(s): Paranormal Romance, Mythology
Format: Paperback
Page: 281
| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

 

MY RATING: 4.5 Stars 

Goodreads Description
The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.


 

I finished this entire book in one day. This isn’t too surprising considering it’s not even 300 pages long, but damn, this book was amazing. And I expected nothing better than amazing from the amazing writer: Jennifer L. Armentrout! Half-Blood is full of action and romance that just sets you off. The beginning of the story is a fight scene and, well, WOW. I think that is enough of a hook for anyone. I do have to admit fully that the beginning of the book can be a little slow. Half-Blood  is very see through, I could predict exactly what was going to happen and I was REALLY excited for all these things to happen, but they weren’t happening quite yet. So that’s why the beginning felt kind of on the slow side for me. But as a whole, the book kept me interested and wanting more.
For those of you who have read the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead, don’t come and attack me. But Half-Blood has some serious similarities. Tons of people have noticed this, and well, I don’t think it’s a big deal. Personally I think it’s kind of a coincidence that the two books look strikingly similar in many ways. I haven’t read all of Vampire Academy,  I only read the first book, but I can still tell. Half-Blood is definitely short and sweet, if it were any longer it would lag, the plot and everything. But as proof of how awesome and amazing the plot of Half-Blood is, I bring before you a picture of my nails and how the plot of Half-Blood caused me to pick them short. NAILS!
I’m going to say this and you’ll probably hear me say this a billion other times. If you are in a book slump, go to a Jennifer L. Armentrout book because they are guaranteed to get you into the reading game. She writes amazing plots and characters, a hard thing to do. Alex is very stubborn, she’s rebellious and she is everything you could want in a female main character. The whole idea of a female character that is everything us girls wish to be might not be realistic, but it’s quite entertaining in a story and I enjoy reading about it. All of Jennifer’s male characters are bound to be sexy, okay? All of them. And Aiden, our star man is no different. Aiden tolerates Alex and cares for her. He’s also her trainer and a Pure. This means any romance between them is forbidden, and well – forbidden romance is my favorite! Aiden is strong and comforting, caring but sometimes can always seem cold, a well rounded character.
Overall, Half-Blood is fantastic, it has everything you could want in an action packed YA novel. Trust me, you’ll love it!

Waiting on Wednesday #8 » The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Leave a Reply

