Review » Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz

 photo 2820533_zpsfagxiygt.jpgDeadly Little Secret
By Laurie Faria Stolarz
Release Date: 12/23/08
Published by Hyperion
Genre(s): Paranormal, Romance, Mystery
Format: Hardback (Library)
Page: 252
| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

MY RATING 3.5 Stars

Goodreads Description
Up until three months ago, everything in sixteen-year-old Camelia’s life had been fairly ordinary: decent grades; an okay relationship with her parents; and a pretty cool part-time job at the art studio downtown. But when Ben, the mysterious new guy, starts junior year at her high school, Camelia’s life becomes anything but ordinary.
Rumored to be somehow responsible for his ex-girlfriend’s accidental death, Ben is immediately ostracized by everyone on campus. Except for Camelia. She’s reluctant to believe the rumors, even when her friends try to convince her otherwise. She’s inexplicably drawn to Ben and to his touch. But soon, Camelia is receiving eerie phone calls and strange packages with threatening notes. Ben insists she is in danger, and that he can help-but can he be trusted? She knows he’s hiding something… but he’s not the only one with a secret.

Review

      Deadly Little Secret is super unique. It has certain qualities to it that I have never seen in a book before. It does have the “mystery bad boy” book trope, but there are many aspects to Deadly Little Secret that are super cool and well, AWESOME! Deadly Little Secret is for sure a mystery, someone is very much stalking Camelia. Ben, our resident bad boy/love interest says she’s in danger and I don’t know if it’s just me, but if someone tells me I’m in danger and I’m getting stalker letters, well I’m gonna trust whoever is saying I’m in danger! In some ways, Camelia can be a little questionable, but overall I found her character to be really reliable and realistic. She’s a highschool girl, she isn’t a hero, she isn’t a snotty brat. She’s “that average teen” and I really loved this about her.
The plot of this book was slow, I’m not gonna lie. That’s probably why I gave the book 3.5 stars. I do understand that most mystery books are slow, as they are about a buildup to the big reveal, but Deadly Little Secret didn’t have enough mini reveals throughout the book to keep me well into the story. Though, I do applaud the end. I LOVED THE END. I found that the end was really well written, the plot twist was legitimate and well, Laurie did such  good job with the end so that I wanted to continue on with the story!
One thing that people might mistake about this book is it’s true genre. IT’S NOT CONTEMPORARY. It’s not one of those dark contemporary creepy stalker books. This book does have paranormal aspects. In fact, the paranormal aspect is exactly what makes Deadly Little Secret so unique. The ability, Psychokinesis is present in the book, the ability to see visions through touch. Hence the name of the series, *cough cough* The Touch series.
Another thing I would like to let you know is that I am not a big mystery kind of girl. I’ve never loved mystery books, why? I have not freaking clue. Surprisingly, I did like this book so consider this: If I, a girl who doesn’t prefer mystery as her genre of choice enjoyed this book, maybe you should give it a shot.

Waiting on Wednesday #8 » The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

 

2 thoughts on “Review » Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz

  1. I read this book too! I need to buy the sequel. I think I gave it a similar rating as well. I’m glad you liked it. It’s nice to see more bloggers reading backlisted titles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

