Review » The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

18190208The Witch Hunter
By Virginia Boecker
Release Date: 6/2/15
Published by Little Brown Books
Genre(s): Fantasy, Magic, Fiction
Format: Hardback
Page: 368
| Buy on Amazon 
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads 

MY RATING: 5 Stars 

Goodreads Description
Your greatest enemy isn’t what you fight, but what you fear.
Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.
Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.
But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

Review

Can I just say that The Witch Hunter was fantastic? No, The Witch Hunter was better than fantastic. To be completely honest with you, I had low expectations for The Witch Hunter, I was never the type of person to be into books with witches in it, much less witch hunters! When I bought The Witch Hunter I didn’t know what I was getting into, I was just randomly buying another book, and wow – this book just blew my mind.

I loved the characters. I found that Elizabeth was very conflicted in what side she was truly on and I really enjoyed that this was a reoccurring problem throughout the story. I LOVED JOHN. He was super cute to Elizabeth and he really understood her. He isn’t a bad boy – in fact he’s quite average, not too handsome in ways that are practically unrealistic. The Witch Hunter is said to have a love triangle, though I didn’t really see it. Our final connecting piece of the supposed love triangle is said to be Caleb, but honestly, I found they were more friends if anything. All of the characters in The Witch Hunter had some incredible aspects that made them great. Now, I do admit they weren’t like character glory like the characters in The Raven Boys and Six of Crows but they were really amazing and I just wanted to group hug them all!

The plot was the best part of this book I would say. Though The Witch Hunter did have some slower moments, there weren’t many and they were pretty short. Not to mention, these “slower” parts did keep me wondering what was going to happen next. From beginning to end, The Witch Hunter kept me on my toes wanting more. It really sucked when it ended. Like really sucked.

The Witch Hunter really set a good example for other witchy YA books. This was probably my first official YA book with witches in it and I was astonished by how much I enjoyed and loved it. The magic was breathtaking and well, who doesn’t love magic? I am so so excited for the sequel The King Slayer. I know that one will definitely impress. I highly recommend this book to any fantasy lovers like me!

e36fc-fullsizerender2b252842529

2 thoughts on “Review » The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

  1. I have had this book on my Kindle for so long.. I just keep getting distracted by other books. And I don’t know why because this books sounds right up my street! I’m real glad to hear that it was good, and I enjoyed reading your thoughts on it. I’ll have to boost it up my TBR pile!

    Also, look at that! I already follow you! I didn’t recognise the blog link when you left a comment because I think it might be set to an old blog? But then you sent me the proper link and I was like ‘hey! I know that blog!’ 😄

    Anyway! I hope you achieve your goals this year! Have a nice day 😊

    Like

    1. YESSS do read it! And it is set up to an old blog, even though when I checked the gravatar thing it said it was attached to this one..*sigh* I shall investigate tomorrow. Thanks for the “past” follow I guess! Have a nice day too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

