Young Adult & Retellings

I’ll be completely honest with you, I love retellings. I have always found them to be super fun and creative. It’s really interesting to see an authors own take and twist to a fairytale, it makes the reader never really truly see it the same way again. Of course, typically in a good way.

Some of my favorite YA retellings include AG Howard’s Splintered, Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass Series  and A Court of Thorns and Roses and The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd.

51l9oprzjil-_sy344_bo1204203200_81pujydq2yl
1229143816096824

If you ask me, I would say retellings are becoming more in more popular among young adult authors. We have The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins coming out this year, along with Sophie Jordan’s The Shadow QueenBlackhearts by Nicole Castroman, and of course, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas. In my personal opinion, the sudden increase in retellings might be due to the popularity with the few written.

I am actually very excited for the 2016 titles above. But my real question for this discussion is what makes a good retelling? I mean, honestly, I find that there is no “real” way to write a good story much less a retelling. But what makes a bad retelling? There is one thing a retelling needs to have and it’s relation to what story it’s retelling, for instance, ACOTAR has the Tamlin – the beast from Beauty and the Beast, Splintered has Wonderland from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. But after that, I say what makes the book a great book is all up to the author. What are some things you think make a retelling good or bad? Do you agree with me? Disagree? Tell me in the comments! Thanks for reading!

Waiting on Wednesday #8 » The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

9 thoughts on “Young Adult & Retellings

  1. I am obsessed with all retellings. I’m not picky. If a book is listed as a retelling it instantly goes on my TBR. I am really excited for The Great Hunt by Wendy Higgins. I am curently reading her Sweet Evil series (and I love it!), so I am excited to see her take on a retelling. I actually didn’t know that The Madman’s Daughter was a retelling?! I read that one last year and completely didn’t notice. One of my favourite things with retellings is if the author makes a normally pleasant character and turns them into the villian, or vice versa! 😀

    Like

    1. I am super excited for The Great Hunt! I read Sweet Evil but never got to the last book….:/ Just never put in time to read it, but if I remember it was very good like you said! The Madman’s Daughter is a retelling of the classic “The Island of Doctor Moreau”, Doctor Moreau was Juliet’s fathers. Yes! I agree, the things an author can do with a fairytale is unimaginable! It can totally make you see things differently.

      Like

    1. Definitely. The elements gotta be there and what makes it really a retelling is the way its put together. Throne of Glass was loosely based off of Cinderella! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love retellings, too! I was a bit worried that eventually publishers would stop acquiring them because they felt we “had too many” already or something, but it looks as if they might be solid sellers that publishers will consider at least for mid-list titles. So, yeah, bring on all the 2016 retellings!

    Like

    1. Yes! There are so many 2016 retellings I’m super excited for! 🙂 I never took it into consideration a publisher might not want anymore retellings! Thanks for dropping a comment!

      Like

  3. I love retellings! I noticed there are a lot coming out in 2016, too. In addition the ones you’ve said, there is also Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell, Never Never by Brianna Shrum, and The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I’m very excited for “Heartless” by the way! I think a good retelling is when an author is inspired by a famous story, but doesn’t copy it. The story itself is its own– different plot, characters, etc,. I guess, a notable resemblance but not enough that it is considered copying per say.

    Like

    1. I haven’t looked into what Unhooked was about, I do want to read Never, Never and I’m almost done with TLC. Ugh, yes – Heartless looks so good! I’m such an Alice junkie. I like what you think is a good retelling, a story being it’s own is super important, then well like you said, it would end up being copying!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

