Why I Read

phonto

Reading I feel is something that isn’t quite as appreciated in this day in age. And it really sucks. On Twitter, I can be more like myself. I can also express myself on this blog and I can interact with fellow book lovers like a maniac and they understand. But at school, I can only act crazy with my friends, I could almost say I’m embarrassed when I tell someone I spent my entire holiday break reading. I feel like I have to practically explain myself. But with all the trouble it seems to be giving me, why do I read?

The answer is simple.

I couldn’t live without reading. I wouldn’t be able to detach myself from some of the friendliest people I’ve met on Twitter. And its one of those passions that just grows.

I’m sure if you’re reading this post right now, you’ve experienced this. But I read because it takes me to another place. The thing with reading, is how powerful it makes you feel. I don’t know about you, but Heir of Fire made me feel utterly invincible! Plus, there is the idea of role models. I believe everyone has a role model, why can’t us readers look up to the heroes in books? I’m pretty sure none of us are the heir to the throne of a fallen kingdom, that none of us are part fae or hold a key to the Narrows. But believe it or not, you can learn some pretty awesome aspiring things from these characters.

And that is why I read.

(And don’t even get me started on a girl I knew in junior high who I thought shared my love for reading but apparently didn’t and I found out her dad was paying her…)

Tell me why you read in the comments! 🙂

e36fc-fullsizerender2b252842529

 

9 thoughts on “Why I Read

  1. I have been reading ever since I was young. Then, I got sucked into other things. Boys, television, school and more. Luckily, I found my way back. However, I read because I enjoy it. It’s a form of escape. It’s provided me with a sense of community too. I can have a common thing to talk to with my fellow bookworms. So, it serves as a conversation piece as well. I don’t know…it’s hard to explain. I never thought about why I read, I just do.

    Like

    1. Oh yes, me too – maybe not boys, I was adamant in sixth grade that I would never be a girl to be constantly gushing about her crush but now I’ve come to terms on beautiful people. 🙂 I can relate, I stopped reading for awhile too. I love your explanation, especially that you never think about why you read, that you just do! It means you truly actually love it I think.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I know exactly what you mean. Reading is so under appreciated these days. I’ve always been a reader. I sadly stepped away from reading in high school because it was ‘uncool’. Luckily I saw the error of my ways and am reading again! Reading is DEFINITELY cool. 🙂
    Reading is such an escape and there are countless worlds we can fall into. Go readers! 🙂

    Like

  3. That just makes me sad to know someone was only reading because she was being paid :-/ I was that person always reading during class and free time at school, so everyone just kind of accepted it and would good-naturedly tease me if they noticed it was taking me more than a week to finish a book lol. You don’t have to explain yourself to anyone when it comes to your love of reading!

    I read for so many reasons, but the main ones being it’s fun, it’s an escape, and it’s a way to understand and connect with other people because you get to experience things you never otherwise would, and from a different perspective with different thoughts and feelings from your own. But characters can definitely be amazing role models! Great post 🙂

    Like

    1. I never considered the fact that reading also helps you understand and connect with other people! Thank you! And also, thank you for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

    1. No they weren’t being paid to hang out with me! I hung out with her because I thought she enjoyed reading like I did, and then she told me she got paid to read and actually didn’t like to read. Thank you! And you totally should write your own post! 🙂

      Like

  4. I don’t really know. I have always loved reading a good book. I went through a phase in early 2015 that I hated reading so I spent ALL my time watching TV but in June something sparked and I loved reading again. Plus in June I discovered Goodreads and Booktubers which helped me continue reading (I didn’t discovered the book blogging community till November, it’s so much better than Booktube). I am kind of embarrassed to talk to people about reading because of common stereotypes. Once I get to know people, they know I love books.

    Like

Leave a Reply

