Review » Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

 photo 51uTAOpSuOL._SX328_BO1204203200__zpsknpdfscd.jpgTruthwitch
By Susan Dennard
Release Date: 1/5/16
Published by Tor Teen
Genre(s): Fantasy, Action, Adventure
Format: Hardcover
Page: 416
| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

MY RATING: 4 Stars 

Goodreads Description
On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.
In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.
Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.
Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.
Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

Review

Well, let me just say Truthwitch was the very definition of “Over Hyped”. I couldn’t believe it! Truthwitch was beyond over hyped and I really felt that had an affect on how much I enjoyed it as a whole. How? Well, with all the hype, I was expecting more, I was expecting to be mind blown. Now, don’t get me wrong, Truthwitch was a really good book, it truly was. But it wasn’t the type of book that I just couldn’t put down, it just wasn’t as spectacular as I thought it would be. I really wish it hadn’t been this hyped. :\

I think the best part about Truthwitch was the friendship between Safiya and Iseult. Safiya and Iseult are Threadsisters, similar to Clare’s Parabatai and Maas’ Carranam. Now I’m NOT accusing Dennard of “copying” these ideas, I think the whole idea is super overused and it was simply a subtle similarity I noticed. But what’s different is the relationship between Safiya and Iseult, they are best friends, and you can tell how true they are. I loved it. In my honest opinion, I felt Safiya didn’t have the coolest abilities, I mean yes, Truthwitches are rare, but Safiya is literally a lie detector. That’s it. I found Iseult’s ability to be much cooler! I found the characters of Truthwitch to be fantastic. Merik was such a unique love interest and Aeduan was definitely two faced. 🙂

I found that the plot of Truthwitch was slow, at least in the beginning. I kept putting it down simply because of that. The first 100 pages were definitely on the slower side, and then it was the entire middle all the way to the end where it got really good. Though it was good, I definitely was expecting something more, something extravagant, but when that never happened, well I wasn’t disappointed but I don’t think it helped get Truthwitch on my favorites shelf. The plot overall was decently paced and filled with magic and action.

I personally found the world building to be okay. I thought Susan did a really good job with naming the countries and creating characters that lived and breathed within them. But I wanted to know even more, I felt I didn’t get more. Truthwitch was a good book, great even! But I really was expecting even better because of the hype. But I do highly recommend Truthwitch!

e36fc-fullsizerender2b252842529

 

7 thoughts on “Review » Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

  1. I AM IN TOTAL AGREEMENT! I’ve put the book down and haven’t picked it back up for days. I’m still slugging through the slow bits of the book. I’m pulling towards the 1/3 done mark thou ^_^ BUT, because you say it picks up, I’ll try and read it again. It’s a fine story. Very entertaining. I just don’t think it deserves quite as much hype as it got. There’s nothing MIND BLOWING about it. At least so far as I can tell. Great review! 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s hard for me too with a slow book, because with school I don’t get as much time to read so when I do come back I’ve forgotten everything! Does that make sense? It gets really good in the middle. I definitely think the SS&D series is MIND BLOWING, though I haven’t read the 3rd, the series is still far better than TW still!

      Like

  2. I really do agree with basically everything you’ve said here. The book was MAJORLY over-hyped and I think that will probably a lot of reader’s experience for the worse. This one seemed interesting because there seemed to be a lot of people who were hyping it on Twitter who hadn’t even read it yet. That doesn’t really make sense to me, but that’s okay. I definitely got a little tired of seeing everything TW on Twitter.

    And the friendship between Safi and Iseult was definitely my favorite part of the book, as well. I LOVE when authors include a deep and loving friendship because those are so important in real life too.

    Great review, Claire!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was expecting TW to be as good as Throne of Glass, just epically amazing, but it just wasn’t. Though I’m glad Safi and Iseult’s relationship truly outshined the plot and stuff. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

