Review » Vicious by V.E. Schwab

 photo 13638125_zps8vljueyx.jpgVicious
By V.E. Schwab
Release Date: 9/24/13
Published by Tor
Genre(s): Action, Adventure
Format: Hardcover
Page: 364
| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

MY RATING: 5 Stars

Goodreads Description
Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong. Ten years later, Victor breaks out of prison, determined to catch up to his old friend (now foe), aided by a young girl whose reserved nature obscures a stunning ability. Meanwhile, Eli is on a mission to eradicate every other super-powered person that he can find—aside from his sidekick, an enigmatic woman with an unbreakable will. Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge—but who will be left alive at the end?

Review

Vicious was hands down, amazing. Maybe stunning. Vicious was all the synonyms of amazing. Because it simply was. I had heard a lot about Vicious over the past couple months, I had read A Darker Shade of Magic and LOVED IT. I had Vicious sitting on my shelf for the longest time, and finally the time was right. I wanted in on the book that everyone raved about.

Personally I felt that the description given wasn’t enough for me, it didn’t tell me enough to make me want to read Vicious. Let’s just say I thought Vicious sounded interesting, but it could easily not be. Vicious IS INTERESTING. The way it was written was perfect, Victoria is such an amazing writer already and it shows in Vicious. I could picture everything that was happening as I was reading! As you read, you can tell that Vicious is written well, that the writer behind the story has a talent.

One of my favorite things about Vicious is its villainous theme. This isn’t a spoiler just so you know. But when I first read the description I automatically assumed, Victor Vale is a villain, but as you start to read you realize that, maybe Victor isn’t the villain. Maybe Eli is? Victoria blurred the lines of who was bad and who was good, so so well.

Victor Vale is such a rounded character, yet at the same time he is sharp angles. He’s bad, but holds compassion. Victor is hurt, he is cold, calm, and deadly. He is still kind. I loved Victor. In my opinion, Victor is the hero in this story. Moving to Eli, I found he was a little pretentious. I found that I liked him in the beginning of the story, but turned to hate him towards the end. Though I hated him, his character development was mind blowing.

On a final note, I’d like to talk about the plot. The plot was well paced, probably on the slower side. But Victoria has this magical ability to make a story slow but keep us readers hooked in, to want to know what happens next. The plot of Vicious was dark and mysterious, full of action and superpowers. Vicious was fantastically amazing.

Waiting on Wednesday #8 » The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

 

 

 

 

 

PS: Vicious does have torture, lots of swear words and death. It is under the adult genre!

 

7 thoughts on “Review » Vicious by V.E. Schwab

    1. I can’t believe you haven’t read it yet! Feel like you’ve read all books out there (know you haven’t but for some reason…xD)! It’s a good one!

      Like

  1. I’ve been told to read a book by V. E. Schwab – people claim her books are amazing, but I’ve always written it off (not sure why). You’ve definitely convinced me though, I’ll have to add it to my TBR. The plot sounds really intriguing! You’re review was so good! c:

    Like

Leave a Reply

