Review » Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson

25626729Truth
By Michelle Johnson
Release Date: 5/25/15
Published by Oleah Publishing
Format: eBook
Page: 220
| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N 
| Add to Goodreads

MY RATING: 3 Stars 

Goodreads Description
What would you do if everything you thought to be true in your life was a lie?

Sixteen-year-old Angel Seriki must face overwhelming truths about her family when she meets Zander Black, a new student to her high school who is smart, charming and devastatingly beautiful. The revelations he uncovers to her about her family’s past changes everything, and as her relationship and feelings for Zander deepen, so do the risks involved. She must now accept her fate and face the true reality of who and what she is. Even if that means giving up everything, including being human.

Review

*****I received an free ebook of this book in exchange for an honest review

Quite surprisingly I really enjoyed Truth. It wasn’t spectacular, it wasn’t mind blowing or fantastic. But it still had a great story that urged me to keep reading. I didn’t have high expectations for this book mostly because an author came to me requesting. I don’t know why, but whenever an author comes to me asking me for a review I am prepared for the worst. I find this a good thing so when I do read, I’m not disappointed by all of the thing said book doesn’t have.

The overall pacing of Truth was great. It was steadily paced and had it’s slower moments, but these slower moments still had enough drama to keep me wanting reading. There were also a few parts of romantic drama that made me squeal like a damn pig. I am a huge romantic, it was definitely cheesy, and maybe not written very well, but for me as long as it isn’t insta-love, I’m chill. The action of Truth is great, it is pretty obvious, very predictable. But once again, the action kept me hooked for sure. Michelle did a good job with pacing Truth, to keep it simple and not boring, and having high climactic full of action points.

The characters I found were questionable. I liked our main character Angel, but she was much like every other female character that is introduced into this new world. Angel was rounded, but just not enough, unfortunately she was too predictable and that was one of the main things I really didn’t like about her. My favorite character is probably Jewls, she was that fun best friend, not much to her but to me she was perfect. Okay, on to Zander, I enjoyed his presence, his brave manly YA hero that protects our perfectly capable of defending herself heroine. But he was so cheesy. He made me laugh at some points. But his cheesiness, well I liked that and hated it. Zander definitely could have been written far better. I feel like Michelle could have made our characters simpler and more their own selves opposed to characters that were similar to all the other characters in past YA.

On a final note I would like to talk about the world building. It wasn’t bad, not bad at all but I can describe it in one word. BLECK BLAH SPLAT. The world building of Truth was a whole mix of all sorts of things and I really found it unique, but at the same time it just didn’t work too well. It was a mix of the heaven hell theme, with angels and demons, it had the supernatural tones of vampires and such, an outer space/galaxy theme, and a fantasy theme all in one. I felt it was a very big mess. I think it could have been organized much better and though it may have been a big mess, I think this interesting world has the potential to be organized much better. The world building was probably the most disappointing factor of Truth. 

I would probably read the second book when it comes out. Truth was definitely good and I am excited for more. 🙂

e36fc-fullsizerender2b252842529

One thought on “Review » Oleah Chronicles: Truth by Michelle Johnson

  1. Neither the characters nor the synopsis really grab my interest but I’ll wait for your review on #2 before I decide whether to put this series on my TBR or not. Incomplete/chaotic/confusing or overwhelminging world building is a huge turn off for me but hopefully the second book will clear things up as bit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

