Review » Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

 photo 21936937_zpsqzn5q591.jpgBlackhearts
By Nicole Castroman
Release Date: 2/9/16
Published by Simon Pulse
Genre(s): Romance, Adventure
Format: Hardcover
Page: 384
| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

MY RATING: 5 Stars

Goodreads Description
Blackbeard the pirate was known for striking fear in the hearts of the bravest of sailors. But once he was just a young man who dreamed of leaving his rigid life behind to chase adventure in faraway lands. Nothing could stop him—until he met the one girl who would change everything.

Edward “Teach” Drummond, son of one of Bristol’s richest merchants, has just returned from a year-long journey on the high seas to find his life in shambles. Betrothed to a girl he doesn’t love and sick of the high society he was born into, Teach dreams only of returning to the vast ocean he’d begun to call home. There’s just one problem: convincing his father to let him leave and never come back.

Following her parents’ deaths, Anne Barrett is left penniless and soon to be homeless. Though she’s barely worked a day in her life, Anne is forced to take a job as a maid in the home of Master Drummond. Lonely days stretch into weeks, and Anne longs for escape. How will she ever realize her dream of sailing to Curaçao—where her mother was born—when she’s stuck in England?

From the moment Teach and Anne meet, they set the world ablaze. Drawn to each other, they’re trapped by society and their own circumstances. Faced with an impossible choice, they must decide to chase their dreams and go, or follow their hearts and stay.

Review

WOW THIS BOOK WAS JUST ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman was such an amazing story full of action and very importantly…ROMANCE. *squeals* *runs around in circles sporadically* *fangirls HARD* When this book got to my house, my dad actually called Blackhearts Blackbeard fanfiction. At first, I denied it. But if you really think about it, it kind of is.😂 But it’s not cheesy, when I say Blackhearts is a Blackbeard fanfiction, I mean it in an absolute positive way.

The characters of Blackhearts stunned me. Overall they were fantastic. Anne is such a unique character, for one, she isn’t white and in her time period, you can guess – someone not white is shunned in society typically. Anne is very feisty, in fact, she is probably the very typical heroine. Stubborn, feisty, kind hearted and all the rest. I still loved her through and through though. She was written really well. Our pre-Blackbeard, Edward Drummond AKA Teach is for sure swoon worthy. Teach kind of reminded me of Maxon from The Selection. I have absolutely no idea why, but he does. I really loved reading about Teach because if you don’t know, BLACKBEARD WAS A NORMAL DUDE. I mean, Blackbeards early life wasn’t really written down or anything. Reading about Teach really set off my imagination and I adored reading about Blackbeard and his early life.

The plot kept me up at night. Seriously, before bed I would read and then I would think and think and THINK about what would happen next. The plot was well written, the pacing steady and complete. Though Blackhearts I do admit was mostly romance, and less action – for me, the romance was enough. The tension between Teach and Anne was perfect and well, I gotta love a forbidden romance especially.

Overall, Nicole Castroman developed a fantastic debut novel with strong characters, strong writing and a strong plot. I was very very impressed by Blackhearts and am excited for whatever Nicole has next!

Waiting on Wednesday #8 » The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

 

One thought on “Review » Blackhearts by Nicole Castroman

  1. I’ve honestly been on the fence about this book but considering all the rave reviews I think I’m going to have to jump on the bandwagon and read it! Thanks for the review, Claire. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

