Top Ten Tuesday » Top Ten Songs I Wish Were Books

Top Ten Tuesday » Top Ten Best Books I Read in 2015This meme is hosted by the amazing Broke and Bookish. She has an amazing blog and some cool tweets to share so go check her out! I’m a big music person so I believe this TTT will be pretty interesting! I actually forgot that today was Monday night because I’m off all this week. Forgive me if this post is a little hasty.

1. The Girl by City and Colour
This song has a story behind it. A romance story of course, love that song!

When you cry a piece of my heart dies
Knowing that I may have been the cause
If you were to leave
Fulfill someone else’s dreams
– The Girl by City and Colour

2. Ex’s and Oh’s by Elle King
I can see it, a story about a ruthless heartbreaker, in this story there is no “one guy”. In this story, this girl is the one everyone sees and stares at. There is no crazy hot guy in this story.

Ex’s and the oh, oh, oh’s they haunt me
Like ghosts they want me to make ’em all
They won’t let go
Ex’s and oh’s
– Ex’s and Oh’s by Elle King

3. Heroes by Alesso feat. Tove Lo
This story is about a girl. A dreamer, a story where a character or characters realize their potential in the world and see that you don’t have to wear a cape to be a hero.

Anybody’s got the power
They don’t see it cause they don’t understand
Spin around and round for hours
You and me, we got the world in our hands
– Heroes by Alesso feat Tove Lo

4. Kettering by The Antlers
This story is a sadder one. One about loss and tragedy. This song is harder to see a story, but I still feel a story. Maybe a story about someone that is going to die? Not sure but this song is pretty dark and tragic.

but something kept me standing
by that hospital bed
i should’ve quit but instead
i took care of you
– Kettering by The Antlers 

5. Bright by Echosmith
This story would be about a girl. A girl with the perfect love. Zero tragedy. And a cliche ending. Sometimes I think EVERYONE needs to read a book like this. It’s good for the soul. 🙂

I think the universe is on my side
Heaven and Earth have finally aligned
Days are good and that’s they way it should be
– Bright by Echosmith

6. Uprising by Muse
This book would for sure be sci-fi, probably no romance and I guarantee aliens in it. Lot’s of action and obviously – an uprising of some sort!

Interchanging mind control
Come let the revolution take its toll if you could
Flick a switch and open your third eye, you’d see that
We should never be afraid to die
– Uprising by Muse

7. Riptide by Vance Joy
Riptide is my happy song okay? It literally always makes me happy. This book would be about independence I would say. I feel like it gives off the idea of some sort of adventure, a story where people are running away. A touch of romance as well in this huge adventure.

Lady, running down to the riptide
Taken away to the dark side
I wanna be your left hand man
I love you when you’re singing that song and
I got a lump in my throat ’cause
You’re gonna sing the words wrong
– Riptide by Vance Joy 

8. New Soul by Yael Naim
Okay I see a pure soul in this story. Someone born with absolutely zero sin, completely innocent and knowing nothing of the real dangers of the world. Maybe a paranormal romance, or maybe just a weird dystopian.

See I’m a young soul in this very strange world
Hoping I could learn a bit ’bout what is true and fake
But why all this hate? try to communicate
Finding trust and love is not always easy to make
– New Soul by Yael Naim
9. Good Time by Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen 
This song basically tells of a summer of fun and craziness in general. Perhaps a story about how good life is, and to live to its fullest potential.
Good morning and good night
I’ll wake up at twilight
It’s gonna be alright
We don’t even have to try
It’s always a good time
– Good Time by Owl City and Carly Rae Jepsen
10. Little Do You Know by Alex and Sierra
Okay obviously this story is about a recent breakup of some sort. Lots of ooey gooey heartbreak and all the rest. I used to listen to this song on repeat when I wrote tragic break up scenes in seventh grade.
Little do you know
How I’m breaking while you fall asleep
Little do you know
I’m still haunted by the memories
Little do you know
I’m trying to pick myself up piece by piece
– Little Do You Know by Alex and Sierra
Thanks guys for reading! These are also some great songs so don’t hesitate to listen to them! 🙂 What are some of your favorite songs?

 

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday » Top Ten Songs I Wish Were Books

  1. This is an interesting topic. There are so many great songs that could made fantastic books. Even though I’m only familiar with a few of the songs you chose, I’m glad you put some of the lyrics there so I better understand why you picked them. I think you made awesome choices! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

