Review » Uprooted by Naomi Novik

 photo 61GTgHMU28L._SY344_BO1204203200__zpsfy1hnpby.jpgUprooted
By Naomi Novik
Release Date: 5/19/15
Published by Del Rey
Genre(s): Fantasy, Magic, Action
Format: Hardcover
Page: 435
| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N 
| Add to Goodreads

MY RATING: 5 STARS

Goodreads Description
“Our Dragon doesn’t eat the girls he takes, no matter what stories they tell outside our valley. We hear them sometimes, from travelers passing through. They talk as though we were doing human sacrifice, and he were a real dragon. Of course that’s not true: he may be a wizard and immortal, but he’s still a man, and our fathers would band together and kill him if he wanted to eat one of us every ten years. He protects us against the Wood, and we’re grateful, but not that grateful.”
Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.
Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.
The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows—everyone knows—that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.
But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

Review

Uprooted was the best book I’ve read so far this year. It was beyond fantastic. It was so so magical and wonderful, if I could rate it more stars than 5/5 stars, then I would because wow, Uprooted should not be missed. I will admit, at first I was kind of hesitant to read Uprooted at first, I didn’t know much about what it was about or anything – but let me tell you, I’m glad I didn’t because that just made the mind blowing awesomeness of Uprooted so much bigger, stronger – better.

Let me start this review off with the characters. Our main character, Agnieszka is one seriously brave girl. Throughout the beginning of the story it is revealed that she feels very human emotions, and isn’t too afraid of them. I loved reading about Agnieszka, the hardships she endures in the Dragons tower and the magic she is forced to endure. Moving on to the Dragon…well the Dragon was amazing. I LOVED THE DRAGON. And you guys, don’t be fooled, he isn’t an actual Dragon, his title is “the Dragon”. The Dragon was another main character, a male character that wasn’t written as the sexiest man on the plant, we wasn’t written as “that bad-boy gone sweet”. No, the Dragon is a cruel character, a cruel but tolerable character and geez, he was creepy at first, but well I soon learned to love the Dragon just as Agnieszka did.

The plot. WOW. Before I continue on about the plot be prepared for the longest review ever because I have so much to talk about. Anywayyyyys, the plot was spectacular. I was constantly hungry for the next thing that happened. I wanted to know more and more and more. It was full of action with hints of hot romance *waggles eyebrows*. Yes hints of romance! Though Uprooted is primarily a fantasy novel, there is the smallest hints of romance. And I’m a huge romantic, and even though Uprooted didn’t have much, I still LOVED IT. But yes, overall, the plot was steady and fast at the same time, such a good plot!

On to the concept. The concept of Uprooted was spectacular  wondrous. One of my favorite things about Uprooted was the magic. The magic was described so flawlessly, I could picture it in my head. And the concept that in this fantasy world, a Wood exists that corrupts people, takes over their mind, and this Wood has a mind of its own. It’s very wow worthy if you ask me. I mean who could have thought of that? Not me for sure!

Finally, the word building! The world building was out of this world. Literally. I could imagine a whole other world while I read I read Uprooted. The details and description that Naomi incorporated into the story were just…fantastic. It’s rare to find a book so dedicated to the detail of not only the world, but the magic that lives with the world as well. I really wish Uprooted came with a map, but the world building was so good, a map probably wasn’t necessary either!

Overall, Uprooted was just so so SO fantastic. Every single aspect. It is definitely a fantasy book and probably as high fantasy as you can get. Uprooted was also very dark as well, there were for sure darker aspects and though they were dark, they still proved to fit the story well! I highly recommend Uprooted to just about anyone!

There I’m done with my 848 word review.

e36fc-fullsizerender2b252842529

2 thoughts on “Review » Uprooted by Naomi Novik

  1. I’m so glad you did a review on this book because I hadn’t heard of it and it sounds amazing! The cover is pretty and the synopsis really peaked my interest. Add your review on top of that and I’m SO wanting to read this book! Thank you, Claire! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

