Top Ten Tuesday » Ten Books I Recently Enjoyed That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book

f73a0-img_1366This meme is hosted by the amazing Broke and Bookish. She has an amazing blog and some cool tweets to share so go check her out! This TTT is going to be really hard for me, like really hard because I HATE GOING OUT OF MY COMFORT ZONE. Something I will eventually have to do, but I will admit, we might not get to ten today, or five. Whoopsies…

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
Okay I bet you already guessed it, and yes it was school required. But you know, I actually really enjoyed it. I didn’t LOVE it, I don’t worship it or anything. But it wasn’t as bad as I anticipated it to be. I usually am not a big classics reader so this was something new for sure!

2. Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carsonwalkonearthastranger-264x400
I AM NOT A READER WHO ENJOYS THE WESTERN COWBOY TYPE BOOKS. They just don’t appeal to me at all, Walk on Earth a Stranger wasn’t bad. I really expected it to be boring and dull, but in the end, this book had some characteristics I really enjoyed.

3. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
This book didn’t feel like it was the typical book I would read. It for sure sounded interesting but the romance behind it seemed empty to me. But I actually really loved this book when I was done, though the romance wasn’t too sweet for me, the story was great with good diversity.

4. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella
Finding Audrey wasn’t out of my comfort zone because of the topic. It was out of my comfort zone because our main character was 14. I’M 14. It’s really weird for me to read books with MC’s the same age or younger than me, I honestly don’t know why. I should get used to it though because I’m aging and fictional characters don’t.

5. Th18053060e Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker
The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker was really out of my comfort zone. I have never really been into witchy books but after reading The Witch Hunter I was amazed and love witches a whole lot more now!

6. Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige
Dorothy Must Die wasn’t my typical read because of mainly what it was about. I’ve never really been a huge fan of The Wizard of Oz so Dorothy Must Die sounded…eh. Once I read it I actually really enjoyed it, it was very entertaining and a nice badass read. 🙂

 

That’s it for this weeks TTT! I’m actually very proud of myself because I got MORE than five. That is some serious improvement to what I was expecting. Bye guys, I hope you enjoyed this post! Thanks for reading too! ❤

fc9ff-fullsizerender2b252842529

Leave a Reply

