ARC Review » Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie

 photo 23677316_zpsvvvulglw.jpgBurning Glass
By Kathryn Purdie
Release Date: 3/1/16
Published by Katherine Tegen Books
Genre(s): Fantasy, Romance
Format: ARC 
Page: 512

Buy on Amazon
Buy on B&N
Add to Goodreads

MY RATING: 2 Stars

Goodreads Description
Sonya was born with the rare gift to feel what those around her feel—both physically and emotionally—a gift she’s kept hidden from the empire for seventeen long years. After a reckless mistake wipes out all the other girls with similar abilities, Sonya is hauled off to the palace and forced to serve the emperor as his sovereign Auraseer.
Tasked with sensing the intentions of would-be assassins, Sonya is under constant pressure to protect the emperor. One mistake, one small failure, will cost her own life and the lives of the few people left in the world who still trust her.
But Sonya’s power is untamed and reckless, her feelings easily usurped, and she sometimes can’t decipher when other people’s impulses end and her own begin. In a palace full of warring emotions and looming darkness, Sonya fears that the biggest danger to the empire may be herself.
As she struggles to wrangle her abilities, Sonya seeks refuge in her tenuous alliances with the volatile Emperor Valko and his idealistic younger brother, Anton, the crown prince. But when threats of revolution pit the two brothers against each other, Sonya must choose which brother to trust—and which to betray.

Review

I really had high expectations for Burning Glass. Burning Glass was probably my number one most anticipated of 2016. And @KainesCat from Twitter was telling Twitter how great Burning Glass was. It really made me excited to read Burning Glass. Then a miracle happened, @bookishbrian on Twitter offered to send me his ARC. I was totally excited, I was SOOOO excited. But once I started reading, my excitement started to falter, Burning Glass wasn’t everything I thought it would be. Originally, my rating was 3 stars, but after some thinking, my rating became 2 stars. Here’s why.

Let me start with the romance. You guys know me well, if you are a frequent reader, well then you know I LOVE ROMANCE. If you are a new reader, well – now you know. The romance in Burning Glass was horrible in my opinion. I really disliked it. Throughout the story, I felt like Sonya, our main character really just couldn’t get her head straight. Burning Glass has a good old fashioned love triangle, and though it has the fundamentals of a love triangle, I felt Sonya never really ever leaned towards a specific guy, and I wasn’t really rooting for either of the guys. Overall, I felt Sonya’s relationship between both of the boys were very flat, there was nothing much to it that held real heart. Do you get what I mean? For instance, in some books, relationships are so deep your poor fangirl heart begs these two characters together – in Burning Glass I didn’t feel that. It was definitely an “eh” feeling as I read about Sonya and the boys.

I fairly enjoyed the plot. It wasn’t terribly plotted or anything. It had some good pacing and action. Burning Glass did keep me up at night, maybe because it’s plot alone begged me to read more. I’m not sure. But I did enjoy the plot, with bits and pieces of romance, action and tension. I do have to say the plot was very predictable. It wasn’t new in anyway, it was very similar to other YA books I’ve read and I really wish Kathryn had put some sort of UNIQUE spin or twist at the end to set the story apart from others.

Finally, I’m gonna do some talking about characters. Sonya our main character bored me to death. SHE DROVE ME CRAZY TOO. Like her love triangle romance with the boys, Sonya felt very flat and had not much character to her. I didn’t know much about her. I wish the reason for her abilities was explained better. I wish I knew more about why she had these abilities. I had a lot of question marks around Sonya’s character as a whole, and they weren’t questions that were intentional. Anton, our Crown Prince was probably my favorite character, though he did carry the constant stoic expression and cold moments, he had backstory. Sonya also had backstory, but I myself thought it wasn’t told clearly enough. Valko, the emperor and Anton’s brother was the WORST. I hated his character, I hated his relationship with Sonya, it was abusive and just…terrible.

Overall, I gave Burning Glass a 2/5 stars because of the lack of development I felt it had. Feel free to tell me what you about it! Also, completely off topic, but I have been so busy and at this point I’m just trying to get posts out. I’m super behind on comments but I promise I will get to them all! 🙂 Thanks guys!

Waiting on Wednesday #8 » The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

One thought on “ARC Review » Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie

  1. While I avoid reading romance as a genre, I am a very romantic person (when it comes to fictional characters). This book never appealed to me very much to begin with and a romance that falls flat…it doesn’t sound like this one’s for me. It’s hard to enjoy a book when you don’t love the love, right? That’s too bad that it was disappointing for you 😦 Your review was still delightful to read, in case you didn’t know.
    I hope you catch up on all your comments/other blog stuff (don’t stress about it too much) and that your week will be productive and happy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

