Top Ten Tuesday » Ten Books to Read If You Are In the Mood for Fantasy

f73a0-img_1366
This meme is hosted by the amazing Broke and Bookish. She has an amazing blog and some cool tweets to share so go check her out! I love fantasy, and I bet for this TTT a lot of people will be doing the same topic of fantasy. I won’t do the obvious ones, fantasy novels EVERYONE knows about, but of course, if you are in the mood for high fantasy, ALWAYS pick up an Maas book though…

61tlx8a62bal-_sx338_bo1204203200_11. Uprooted by Naomi Novik
This book is such a fantastic fantasy. Everything about it is fantasy, Uprooted is probably as fantasy as you can get into high fantasy. It has magic, and warlocks and evil intelligent shadowy forests, and corrupt and possessed queens and a touch of romance that makes Uprooted the best fantasy you could reach for if you are in need of a fantasy fix.

2. Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking
Switched, is the first book to this series and though it isn’t high fantasy, it is fantasy. More leaning towards urban fantasy – but still fantasy. The mythical creatures in this trilogy are basically trolls, strange subject I know. Whenever I think of it in that way I imagine the rock trolls from Frozen. Trylle is definitely a quick series to read with a good spice of magic and royalty.

3. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
Graceling by Kristin Cashore is like the birth of YA fantasy. At least to me, because it was one of the first few fantasy books I read and loved. Basically the premise of the story is that in this fantasy world, some people are born with two different colored eyes, heterochromia if you want me to get scientific here. And these people are called Gracelings, and have a Grace, or a talent/ability. Graceling is about Katsa a Graceling who works for the king and she has the Grace to kill.

4. The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa
THIS SERIES IS THE SERIES I HAVE A SECRET OBSESSION WITH. The Iron Fey series is a total high fantasy novel full of fey, half fey, magical fey courts, Iron fey, evil queens and other fantasy crap. This series is definitely a go to if you want a good fantasy.

5. A Breath of Frost by Alyxandra Harvey16059442
A Breath of Frost was the type of book that when I read it, I didn’t really have any idea what it was about. At first I was kind of uneasy about it, but once it gets going it gets interesting. It has witches, magic, kinda-ghosts, and portals that open the afterlife. Though A Breath of Frost wasn’t a 5 star read for me, I still enjoyed it a lot.

6. A Darker Shade of Magic by VE Schwab
First of all, VE Schwab is one of my favorite authors. A Darker Shade of Magic was magical, it was downright amazing. IT was also the first book of hers I had ever read and it was stunning. The world building is stunning and creative while the characters are absolutely gorgeous. LOVED THIS BOOK.

7. Splintered by AG Howard
Splintered by AG Howard was definitely a book I didn’t think I would like as much as I did. Wonderland is portrayed in such a cool magical way, this book kinda gave me a Wonderland obsession!

8. Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
Though I do admit, I wasn’t a huge fan of this series, it still is a complete fantasy book. It literally is the epitome of fantasy, with the politics and the magic and the wars and drama. Many people LOVE this series and if you like fantasy – I assure you that you will enjoy this one!


 

That’s it for this weeks TTT! I actually made it to 8 books this time guys! I didn’t put the obvious ones that are more popular like Sarah J Maas, Sarah Raasch, Mary E Pearson etc. Hope you enjoyed reading! Have you read any of these books? If you haven’t I do recommend you check them out! 🙂 Ciao guys!

fc9ff-fullsizerender2b252842529

 

 

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday » Ten Books to Read If You Are In the Mood for Fantasy

  1. YAAAYY!! I’m so excited because we have several series in common! I LOVE The Trylle trilogy, The Iron Fey series and the Splintered series! I also *just ordered the Falling Kingdoms series so I’m really excited to read that and per your recommendation, I’m totally going to be looking into Graceling,Uprooted and ADSoM. Thank you, Claire! HAPPY MARCH! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

