Review » Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

 photo 51LKTQmvKxL._SX329_BO1204203200__zpswhkgcq24.jpgWolf by Wolf
By Ryan Graudin
Release Date: 10/20/15
Published by Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Genre(s): Historical Fiction, Alternate History
Format: Hardback
Page: 388

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads 

Goodreads Description
The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.
Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission?

Review

This book had been on my shelf for months and because of a read a long, I finally read it. And wow…Wolf by Wolf was fantastic. Gorgeous. Splendid. Whatever you wish to call it. I had absolutely no complaints for this book, there was nothing that could have been done any better, it was already as good as it could get, and it was good. I never really bothered to read what Wolf by Wolf was about, I knew it was historical fiction – and historical fiction was never my cup of tea (no cup of tea is my cup of tea, I hate tea). But I eventually read Wolf by Wolf  and was absolutely stunned by how incredible it was.

The characters were splendid. Yes I know I’m going crazy with the adjectives. But seriously, Yael was such an interesting character to read about. She had so many stories to tell, so many traumatizing stories. Yael is probably one of the most interesting characters I’ve ever read about, the way she thinks, all of it is so beautifully written. Felix, Adele’s brother is interesting, we really don’t know much about him – but I still liked his character. And Luka, haha – Luka was another story. Luka is Adele’s ex love interest, and Yael is shifted as Adele through the majority of the story. Luka is full of twists and turns, a total butthole one second and a charming jerk that makes you question him. Luka is definitely a more mysterious character I loved, even in the end.

The plot perfectly paced. Though the book itself wasn’t a fast paced book, it still had a plot that kept you going. Usually it was the story, well obviously it was the story – but what I mean is the story keeps you hanging opposed to plot twists or cliff hanger chapters.

The world building was so so so realistic. What if the Axis Power had won WW2? That is one universe that us humans can’t really imagine very well. But in Wolf by Wolf, Ryan Graudin weaves this realistically terrifying world with images that are just so so real. Real and scary. And reading about it in Wolf by Wolf was something I enjoyed reading about. In fact – I LOVED it.

Overall, I loved Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin. Everything, from page one all the way to page 388. Every single piece of this story is fantastic and magical. Oh, and if you aren’t into Historical Fiction like me, well I still suggest you give Wolf by Wolf a try because I was surprised by how much I loved this book.

e36fc-fullsizerender2b252842529

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review » Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

  1. I’m not a historical fiction fan either but this concept sounds so intriguing! That and with some of my fave bloggers (yes,you’re one of them!) giving such rave reviews, Wolf by Wolf is definitely going on my list of ‘must-reads’.
    Also…WAAAAAT?… You don’t like tea?! It seems like *everyone, especially in the bookish community,(myself included) is addicted to tea nowadays. You’re such a rebel. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

