Review » The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

 photo 51hdo1g8aSL._SY344_BO1204203200__zpsvfyeysle.jpgThe Love That Split the World
By Emily Henry
Release Date: 1/26/16
Published by Razorbill
Genre(s): Contemporary, Romance,
Paranormal
Format: Hardcover
Page: 396

MY RATING: 3.5 Stars

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

Goodreads Description
Natalie Cleary must risk her future and leap blindly into a vast unknown for the chance to build a new world with the boy she loves.
Natalie’s last summer in her small Kentucky hometown is off to a magical start… until she starts seeing the “wrong things.” They’re just momentary glimpses at first—her front door is red instead of its usual green, there’s a pre-school where the garden store should be. But then her whole town disappears for hours, fading away into rolling hills and grazing buffalo, and Nat knows something isn’t right.
That’s when she gets a visit from the kind but mysterious apparition she calls “Grandmother,” who tells her: “You have three months to save him.” The next night, under the stadium lights of the high school football field, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau, and it’s as if time just stops and nothing exists. Nothing, except Natalie and Beau.

Review

The Love That Split the World was that book that the entire book community raved about. Everyone loved it and said it was absolutely fantastic. I really enjoyed this book, I found it to be really unique. I personally had never read a book that had romance, it was a contemporary novel and it had paranormal aspects to it.

One of my favorite things about TLTSTW was the romance. The romance wasn’t a perfect romance, though it was good – that wasn’t what I really liked about it. I liked how Emily Henry was able to create such an epic love story in just one book and manage to avoid the instalove thing we all basically hate. As I was reading, I could feel the instalove creeping in, like I could feel it was going to happen, but as the story progressed – I realized that the relationship between Beau and Nat is not instalove. More of a soul mates relationship.

The concept of TLTSTW was fantastic. At first I wasn’t really sure where the hell this story was going. I had no idea what was really happening. But once we get into the concept of said parallel universe I found that REALLY cool. It was interesting, and how Emily was able to bind together the Native American stories with “reality” that was super awesome.

The Love That Split the World gave me some serious emotions. At one point, there is a part that is one of those ginormous revelations, not sad at all! And as I’m reading I feel tears welling in my eyes. I was totally in a wtf is happening to me moment, seriously. I had not idea why tears were beginning to form. Obviously, TLTSTW messes with your emotions!

I’ll be completely honest with you, TLTSTW was confusing to me. Though I really did love it, I was also very very confused for a huge portion of the book. Especially the end. I closed the book and asked myself what just happened because I honestly didn’t know. That is probably mostly why I rated this book lower than I usually would. Time travel and alternate universes usually screws with my head a lot and confuses me, and that is definitely not the same for everyone! But in my case, it was and as a result the end didn’t set with me well.

Overall, The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry was fantastic. The characters were fascinating to read about and I feel as if there were inspiring find yourself messages throughout the book. Though the time/alternate universes concept confused me to no end, I still had a blast reading.

Waiting on Wednesday #8 » The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review » The Love That Split the World by Emily Henry

  1. YEEEESSSS!!! I’m SO GLAD I wasn’t the only one who was like, “Uum, what the hell just happened? Did I miss something?” I agree, the book was enjoyable and a unique storyline with likeable charters and an awesome romance but I,too, was soooo confused towards the end. I also found myself tearing up and thought that except for the confusing bits, the writing was very well done. I’d definitely give her next book a chance.

    Like

    1. Lol yes! That was me. I thought at the end that both Nat and Beau were like little kids again or something. I heard that Emily Henry said the end was up to the readers own interpretation. *shrugs* I will definitely be reading her next book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

