Review » Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

 photo 25897792_zpsvgyemklt.jpg
Into the Dim
By Janet B Taylor
Release Date: 3/1/16
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
Genre(s): Romance, Action, Time Travel
Format: Physical ARC
Page: 432 

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads 

MY RATING: 3 STARS

Goodreads Description
When fragile, sixteen-year-old Hope Walton loses her mom to an earthquake overseas, her secluded world crumbles. Agreeing to spend the summer in Scotland, Hope discovers that her mother was more than a brilliant academic, but also a member of a secret society of time travelers. Trapped in the twelfth century in the age of Eleanor of Aquitaine, Hope has seventy-two hours to rescue her mother and get back to their own time. Along the way, her path collides with that of a mysterious boy who could be vital to her mission . . . or the key to Hope’s undoing.

Review

Into the Dim was said to be Outlander by Diana Gabaldon for young adults. I would have to disagree. Personally I found that Into the Dim was its own story, yes there was time travel, but really that was the only major plot point that related to Outlander. That and it took place in Scotland. Though Into the Dim was its own story, the few similarities it had to Outlander really bugged me. I’m a huge fan of Outlander. It is one of my favorite books. That is probably the main reason I rated the book 3 stars instead of 4 or even 5, though that isn’t the only reason.

I  liked the characters. I thought Hope was a well rounded character overall, though I do think that she had few moments when she was very flat. That all she was intent on doing was find her mom. One thing I really disliked about Hope was her stupidity. She was intent on hanging out with out special love interest, at some point it felt like that was all she cared about! And our special love interest, Bran – he annoyed me. He wasn’t rounded at all and I thought he was poorly written.

The writing overall was okay, it was very simple. I wouldn’t say it was great or bad but mediocre. It could have been a lot better and especially since there is time travel, Janet could have used more details.

The plot was well paced. I thought towards the end it could have picked up a little more. But overall I enjoyed the plot and the pacing. Towards the end, I felt like if the author had ended at a certain point in the book, it could have worked so much better. The end of Into the Dim would have been a cliffhanger, a good one at that, and it probably would have convinced readers to read the second book.

Overall, Into the Dim was okay, I was expecting so much more and I really think this concept had potential. It really bothered me that there were SO many similarities to Outlander. There was a character that shared the same name of one of the characters in Outlander. That was what really bugged me the most. I recommend this book to someone who enjoys a light simple read.

fc9ff-fullsizerender2b252842529

 

One thought on “Review » Into the Dim by Janet B. Taylor

  1. BUMMER! I,too, had high expectations for this book so it’s disappointing to see that there are so many issues that change my mind about reading it.
    Oh well, they can’t *all be winners.
    I hope the next book you read is ‘blow-your-mind’ amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

