Review » Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

 photo 811CIdTznaL_zpsjnq10yhk.jpg

Lady Midnight
By Cassandra Clare
Release Date: 3/8/16
Published by Margaret K McElderry Books
Genre(s): Urban Fantasy, Romance, Action, Mystery
Format: Hardcover
Page: 720 

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads 

MY RATING: 3.5/5 STARS

Goodreads Description
It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.
Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…
Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Review

*Drawings by Cassandra Jean, SPOILER FREE REVIEW

I had been waiting for Lady Midnight since the seventh grade. That has been 2 years. When Lady Midnight finally came I was so excited to read it, I actually refused to read it because I knew the end would kill me and not reading it would mean the second book would come out a little sooner. I’m stupid I know. I finally caved and began to read.

Okay, Lady Midnight wasn’t bad. But I had a lot of problems with it and that is a first for one of Cassandra’s books for me. Lady Midnight was fantastic towards the end. It was quick paced at the end the last 250-300 pages caused me to hyperventilate, squeal, and yell “oh my god” several times. But what about the first 400 pages Claire? Okay, the first 400 pages were flat. It was slow, nothing big happened and during this time I almost considered temporarily DNFing. The first 400 pages were just this slow, nothing really big is happening kind of part of the book. There wasn’t even that much of a buildup.

tumblr_nfrk71rlea1r3oy4vo1_500Moving to the characters, the characters were well written. I loved Emma, she was kind of a bitch at some points, but mostly, I loved her. Much better than Clary, not as much as Tessa, but I loved her. I also liked Julian, mostly I felt sorry for him because his character seemed so tired, but otherwise he was sweet. My favorite character was probably Cristina. She was really awesome and something fresh and I liked that.

Though I did like the characters, I felt that the characters were past characters. Do you understand what I mean? Emma felt a lot like girl version of Jace. Julian felt a lot like Jem but with the ferocity of Will’s protectiveness and need to keep everyone he loves safe. I felt like I was almost listening to the same voice and I wish Cassie had made the characters different. tumblr_mlkf556agt1r3oy4vo2_500

Relationships is a reoccurring theme in Lady Midnight. It is clear that the Blackthorns have a strong bond to each other. Julian and Emma have a strong bond as well, I enjoyed reading about their parabatai bond from Emma’s perspective. This is the first time we’ve had a MC have a parabatai. Mark and Keiran also have a strong desperate relationship. I thought the relationships throughout Lady Midnight were really well written and I was definitely pleased by that.

I felt this throughout the entirety of Lady Midnight. I was really bored. Everything in Lady Midnight was old. There was almost nothing new about it. I had already had a glimpse of Emma and Julian at the end of COHF. I already know what a modern day Institute looks like. I already know pretty much everything about this world. I wanted something fresh and new, the only thing really new was Cristina and that was one of the tumblr_mu0jo7koly1snq50ko1_500main reasons why  loved her character so much.

Going back on the plot, I thought the plot was old. Really old. I mean, I noticed plot similarities to that of The Infernal Devices series. There is a secret cult /club. Check for both. There is an unknown “master” or leader. Check for both. Strange killings. Check for both. I couldn’t help but notice these similarities! And it drove me nuts because I was expecting Lady Midnight to be a new series. Not the same series with different characters.

The end was definitely fantastic. I thought it kind of ended weirdly, but I did like the end a lot and enjoyed seeing my favorites from past series’.

fc9ff-fullsizerender2b252842529

 

2 thoughts on “Review » Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

  1. I totally know what you mean about being excited but also not wanting to wait for book 2 after an exciting ending in book 1. It drives me nuts! That’s why, especially with smaller series, I just make myself wait until all are out before I buy & read them. But that’s just me.I don’t have an awesome blog to run like you do so I get why you didn’t wait.
    I love the Shadow Hunter world and was so excited for this series so it’s a bummer to hear that it reads more like a reboot than an additional story in this world. Hopefully the next book will be better. *fingers crossed*.
    I’ll still read this series once it’s all out, not only from curiosity &because I love this world so much but because also, my OCD will demand it. Lol.
    Thanks for the review!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

