“The Circus Arrives Without Warning.” || Review » The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus
By Erin Morgenstern
Release Date: 9/13/11
Published by Double Day
Genre(s): Magic, Mystery
Format: Paperback
Page: 512

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads 

MY RATING: 4 STARS 

Goodreads Description
The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.
But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them both, this is a game in which only one can be left standing. Despite the high stakes, Celia and Marco soon tumble headfirst into love, setting off a domino effect of dangerous consequences, and leaving the lives of everyone, from the performers to the patrons, hanging in the balance.

IMG_2261

The Night Circus was definitely one of the most descriptive reads I have ever read. Throughout the entirety of the book, I could practically taste the food being described and see the magic in my mind as clear as day. Everything within The Night Circus was just splendid. The writing was fantastic. As I said before, the writing was descriptive and full. I honestly didn’t expect the writing to be so amazing, but it was. With descriptive words, Morgenstern has a way with weaving together an intricate mystery within her words.

Celia, one of the main characters of the The Night Circus was definitely the type of character that I loved. She was full of mystery and magic, as I was reading, I could imagine the air she held as her character told the story. Marco, our other main character and love interest is a different story. Though he is a charming character, he holds what seemed like more of a boyish and less confident aura. I very much enjoyed reading about these characters.

The plot of The Night Circus is one that captivates your attention. Slow at times but slow in such a way that creates a unique tension keeping the reader captivated and wanting to know what happens next. Personally, I felt that though the plot was engaging, there were times when I felt very lost. Throughout the book there are several time jumps which for me, while I read, it definitely created some confusion. Especially regarding the relationship between Marco and Celia.

I severely underestimated how great The Night Circus would be. It was definitely unlike any book I have ever read. A unique aspect that occurred throughout the novel was the 2nd person point of view chapters. Typically I find books that have these types of chapters to be annoying, in this case it worked. It worked fantastically, I looked forward to these chapters. I highly recommend The Night Circus to readers who love a dark mystery hinted with romance.

IMG_2262 (1)

8 thoughts on ““The Circus Arrives Without Warning.” || Review » The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. I’ve had The Night Circus on my TBR for a long while, though for some reason I’ve been ignoring it for countless of times. I think it’s because I have a feeling that it’s going to be “too” descriptive for me to the point that I’ll end up snoozing throughout the book.

    Then again, something about reading in second person POVs intrigue me, so maybe I’ll try this out sooner. Great review, Claire!

    Like

    1. It is very descriptive. Personally, I really have the tendency to love description, especially in my own writing…basically I ate up the description. The second person POV was so cool to read and if you like that, then definitely give the book a try. And if you haven’t yet, check out Half Bad by Sally Green which also has 2nd person POV! Thank you Mara!

      Like

  2. This is one of my favorite books! There’s just a warm, fuzzy feeling I get when I hear another reader liked a book I love! I’m glad you were swept up in the mystery and magic also! If you haven’t read them yet, Church of Marvels & Magruder’s Curiosoty Cabinet are similar in nature and very much enjoyable reads also.

    Like

  3. It’s so wonderful to see another reader that was swept up by the magic and mystery of The Night Circus. I loved this book! I you haven’t read them yet, and are looking for similar books, Church Of Marvels and Magruder’s Curiosity Cabinet were such good reads also.

    Like

Leave a Reply

