Guest Post! » Contemporary Recommendations ft. Breanna from Recommends Book

Hey guys! I’m Breanna and I blog over at Recommends Book. I’ve been blogging since December 2015 and it’s been super fun. I love reading (obviously, I do have a book blog) and binge watching TV shows (Grey’s Anatomy anybody?). I enjoy doing challenging math problems and making cheesy science jokes because I’m that person.

I know that some people don’t read a lot of contemporaries. I didn’t really like them until I found a few that I fell in love with and now it’s my favourite genre to read.

If you are unsure about what contemporary means, here is the Merriam-Webster definition:
 photo contemporary_zpsmmwyqyhw.jpg

These are my eight favourite contemporary novels/ series that I think you will love. Just remember while reading this that a contemporary novel does not need to have romance in it.

Just One Day by Gayle Foreman
 photo YfePIpa7TVm5q-4raW8Yk28xtfRkWeXtJpD20LYoV2VKhT4VsssKOQhuIqKCJ8DgmuWOcgs2048_zpse4a9upez.jpg

I read this book in one day and the sequel in a few hours. It’s so addicting (just like every other book written by Gayle Foreman) and you’ll be broken if you finish the series without reading the epilogue novella. If you are looking for a book to make you happy this is for you.

Stalk Me by Jillian Dodd

 

If you look at free ya ebooks on ibooks or kobo you’ve probably seen this book. It’s good for anyone looking for a summer romance, not so perfect people and teens with almost no rules then this is the book for you. I literally consumed the first three books in this series and the only reason I didn’t continue was because I don’t like spending a lot of money on ebooks.

That Boy by Jillian Dodd

OMG another Jillian Dodd book! I’ve loved everything that I have ever read by her. It’s perfect for anyone looking to read a character’s entire life story, be content with life or cry a little. There’s a sequel but I’m kind of scared it will ruin my happily ever after.

Dreamland by Sarah Dessen
 photo cbox0b7ysnKwswfTwl_rT6RtmuJTNflhIaG84i5aqwUTIjhOreIlwxKAfDk-l2_eRFOjzgs2048_zpsbmxm4hla.jpg

This book pulled me in and I only put it down for life’s responsibilities. Something horrible happens to the main character but otherwise the book is amazing. It’s perfect for anyone who wants to read about friendships or relationships that aren’t true love.

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

I listened to the audiobook a few months ago and I was immediately sucked in. It made me realize things that I was unaware of before. If you want a story that will make you scared, make you happy and make you sad this is for you.

Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon is still in the closet but he does have another gay friend who he emails. One day someone sees the email and blackmails Simon with it. Doesn’t it sound good? I started listening to this book as soon as I woke up (10:30 am) and finished mid afternoon (4 pm ish) because it was so good and addicting. It’s perfect for anyone who wants a quick read, a cute story or a m/m romance.

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa
 photo DjyzHtOZLbLhSC0keC5QjltljbAO79sm8d1ugEQxuuPdw_LfSNq7czpqVv14l4qQgTGxuQs2048_zpsmpm15txx.jpg

Such a good book about a few friends who just like to do art, bargain shopping and a bunch of random shit. I kind of relate to Mira, the main character because she moves to a new school and has to find her place and make new friends. It’s perfect for anyone looking for an easy read.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Another duology that I read over a two day weekend! Laura-Jean writes love letters to every boy she has ever loved but she never sends them. Guess what? The letters get sent and now Laura-Jean must deal with the consequences. The book is perfect for anyone who wants a light hearted romance or some teenage drama.

Touching A Spirit Bear by Ben Mikaelsen

Cole, a juvenile delinquent is banished to an island in Alaska instead of going to prison. Let’s just say he fucks up and has to live with the consequences. I was forced to read this book for school and I actually love it so much. It’s perfect for anyone who wants to read a book about survival or becoming a better person.

Don’t Even Think About It by Sarah Mlynowsk

 photo MdsLJr5eLZT2hViOCITMAUr_mEZj5OIyIYTVJN2yNrvxPT3L2zVAMjc401XuZh0srme6xgs2048_zpsxbalvzc6.jpg

One of the greatest books that I have ever read. I guess some people could say that it’s paranormal because people develop the ability to read minds but there is a scientific explanation to why they have the ability. It’s perfect for anyone who wants to have fun while reading a story, anyone who wants to be heartbroken that they can’t read minds or anyone who wants to see a big group of people who rarely talk become close friends.


Thank you so much Breanna for guest posting! 🙂 See all you lovelies next time.

2 thoughts on “Guest Post! » Contemporary Recommendations ft. Breanna from Recommends Book

  1. Simon vs The Homosapien agenda has been on my tbr list for so long. I’ve just yet to grab my hands on a copy. It’s one of those books I do not want to e read. I also really want to read Don’t Even Think About It!

    Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

