The Time I Met the Outlander Cast

 photo IMG_2293_zpsmgw7eggn.jpg
Today I’m gonna be telling all you lovelies about the time I met the Outlander cast. Specifically, I met Diana Gabaldon, the author of the Outlander series, Sam Heughan (Jamie), Caitriona Balfe (Claire), Maril Davis (Executive Producer) and Ronald D Moore (Director).

That day was an amazing day.

The day started off at four in the morning. The afternoon before my family and I had heard that at a certain booth they would be handing out exactly 90 tickets to the Outlander signing. It was first come first serve. The exhibition center opened at 7AM but you could get in line whenever you wanted. We got in line at 4AM and sat there. In line. For a very long time.

Not only was it long, but it was really stressful. I was planning the quickest way to get to the booth. The best way to cut through crowds. And how to avoid security because they wouldn’t let you run. Let me get something straight real quick, eventually the “line” becomes one huge blob in front of two escalators and then they slowly let us down the escalators to the exhibition hall AKA the Floor.

Since we were in a big blob, I had my eyes out for the people around me. The people that looked like they were here also here to get Outlander tickets. Then my eyes swept over the crowd and landed upon this group middle aged woman holding cardboard Jamie Fraser heads. I was on to them. But a few minutes later, 3 more middle aged women came and CUT in line. THEY CUT IN LINE. I was beyond pissed. But then again, there wasn’t anything I really could do.

Flashing forward, they finally let us go down. I’m trying my best to cut through the crowd. Trying my best to cut through the little cheat old woman. And once I got downstairs I went by myself and let my mom and dad catch up because I could speed walk faster than they could. As I was walking I spotted a guy that was in front of me in line before they even let us go down. He was also trying to get a ticket to the Outlander signing. I figured I would follow him because, well, he knew what he was doing. So basically I was stalking this guy all the way to the booth.

I finally get to the booth, there’s a HUGE line already for the tickets. I might get a ticket. I might not at this point. But might as well try right? So I get in line and then this lady comes walking down the line saying that they are SOLD OUT of tickets.

I was shocked. I didn’t understand. How could this be happening? There was no way that within a couple minutes, all the tickets could be gone. Why? Because in line, I was close to the front, really close. And there was just no way.

Everyone disperses in disappointment.

Then I see my mom and I tell her that they ran out tickets. Then my mom yells at the booth lady for a little bit. HAHA that was pretty funny. Then my mom found one of the security directors and explained the situation to her. The woman completely agreed, we ended up giving her our phone number and email while she tried to work something out.

And let me tell you.

I was pissed off.

It was more I didn’t really understand what had happened either. If you guys don’t know, I have a huge obsession with Outlander. Like seriously, I love it so much. But since we didn’t get tickets I was kind of disappointed and angry at the same time. Mostly because I had put so much effort into making sure we got tickets and then when we hadn’t, I was kind of just…done.

Well, I wasn’t actually done. Because we were at San Diego Comic Con. You can never be done there. The day went on. We did stuff, walked around. Bought stuff. I picked up like 30 ARCs from the publishing booths, etc.

Since I couldn’t go to the Outlander signing, we decided to go to the Outlander Panel. It was better than nothing and it would be cool to see. It was cool, really cool. Also really scary, you have no idea how many people had cardboard Jamie Fraser heads…

Before the panel began though, my mom got a text. DUHN DUHN DUHN. The security director had managed to get us one ticket to the signing. All we had to do was show up to the booth before the signing and tell another security guy who we were and he would tell us what to do.

I was ecstatic. I was the happiest girl alive. I was going to meet the Outlander Cast. We sat and watched the panel and 15 minutes before the panel ended, we left to go to the booth to get ready for the signing.

I’m gonna fast forward to the part where the signing began. We were all standing in line. Since I didn’t have an actual ticket, the guy who was organizing the signing put a giant black sharpie checkmark and his initials on my hand. This was my “ticket”. Unfortunately no one believed it was my ticket. We had to call the organizing guy over whenever someone asked me where my ticket was.

Let me tell you…I was so nervous. What was I going to say? Would I totally start fangirling? Would I die of embarrassment? Would I start blushing at random points?

To sum it up, I was a big freaking mess.

 photo IMG_0972_zpsyjuztzwr.jpg

The actors would not be signing the book. They were instead signing an exclusive mini poster thing. I got in line and met Diana Gabaldon first. She was really sweet and probably thinking: wtf is a fourteen year old doing reading/watching Outlander. Then I met Sam and well…he’s Sam. He was really nice too and his Scottish accent was really strong so once I had to ask what he had said. That was where I died of embarrassment. Mind you, I was struggling to keep my cool photo IMG_0949_zpsmfxmfylu.jpg this entire time. Then I moved to Caitriona. She was asked me what my name was and I said Claire. This was pretty awkward because in Outlander, if you don’t know, Cait plays the character Claire Fraser. At first she didn’t realize what I had said, and then she smiled and said it was a beautiful name. Then I moved to the producer and director of the show. They didn’t say much. In fact, I don’t remember them saying anything.

Once I left the signing table, my hands were shaking. I had just talked to like, actual stars. It was very intense. To this day, whenever I think about it I get all weird and smile a lot.

And that, was the day I met the Outlander Cast.

 

 photo IMG_2294_zps3z6bnmfk.jpg

6 thoughts on “The Time I Met the Outlander Cast

  1. Awww! So cute that you got star struck ☺️ (I would too!) I don’t know how you managed to get your parents to wait hours in line with you so early in the morning!!! (Seriously, teach me how you did that.) Your parents are superstars, especially your mom for making that ticket happening

    Like

  2. THAT’S WHAT DIANA GABALDON WRITES!?!?!? I HAD NO IDEA NOW I NEED TO READ THE SERIESSSSSSSS
    -they’re right next to all the neil gaiman books and I see them every time I go off to check on our Neil Gaiman-ish situation-

    Like

Leave a Reply

