“To the stars who listen – and the dreams that are answered.” || Review » A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

 photo 17742222._SY540__zpsasxtguzc.jpg
A Court of Mist and Fury
Author:
Sarah J Maas
Series:
A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Genre(s): Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: 5/3/16

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads 

Goodreads Description: 
Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

 I want to start this review off with a warning. Because this book was so fantastic, I am dividing up this review into two parts. The first half will be spoiler-free and the second half will include spoilers. Don’t worry about accidentally being spoiled, I will be sure to let you guys know when the spoiling begins!

Spoiler Free Review!

All of Sarah J Maas’ works have never failed to impress. With her popular debut series, the Throne of Glass series, Maas has a large fan base. So big, that no matter what she publishes next, her dedicated readers will be sure to pick up the nearest book store. A Court of Mist and Fury is the second book to Maas’ A Court of Thorns and Roses series, and though the first book of the series was fantastic, A Court of Mist and Fury was mind blowing. Easily, one of Maas’ best works so far.

Maas’ is infamous for the sudden changes in many of her characters and many readers have trashed her for that (something totally not right) and many readers fight and find evidence for the sudden changes. In ACOMAF, Maas’ presents many new changes within her characters. Changes many people were upset about. But in the end, they fit the storyline really well and really turns the tables on the whole plot. Feyre, the main character, has new challenges, not physically, but mentally. Throughout a good portion of the beginning of the book Maas sets the scene with Feyre’s struggles. Though I enjoy the fact that Maas adds this to Feyre’s own character development, there are other developments later on that I found very hasty of Maas to do. I will get back to these later on.

The male characters of the story, Tamlin and Rhys, are both two very different characters. Tamlin, once a handsome and charming High Lord of Spring is shown to be overprotective of Feyre. Definitely essential to the drama of the entire plot and I found it very effective in keeping the plot going keeping the plot a faster pace. Rhys, is completely opposite of Tamlin. Dark and handsome, Rhys is the gentler type that all us bookworms have been swooning over. I really enjoyed reading about his side of things, in the first book, A Court of Thorns and Roses Maas’ writes Rhys to be in a way, the bad guy. I loved hearing Rhys’ side of things in ACOMAF.

The plot of A Court of Mist and Fury was well paced. The beginning and end, both perfectly well paced. Though it could have done some good if there were more scenes with action in the middle. The book is not a short book and there were times when I felt bored.

The romance was to die for. Every single bit of it was written just so fantastic. Maas weaves such a perfect relationship between Rhys and Feyre giving them amazing chemistry. Regardless if you shipped Feylin before, you were shipped Feysand by the end of ACOMAF. Though, I do have to say that A Court of Mist and Fury is definitely no young adult book. Though the series is listed as young adult, the explicit sex scenes in the book are definitely written like that of an adult novel. My experience with new adult novels has been a dull one, but ACOMAF definitely makes an amazing new adult novel.

Overall, A Court of Mist and Fury is an amazing book, definitely a 5 star read and my new personal obsession.

THIS PART OF THE REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Let’s start off with Feyre. Feyre has definitely become one of my favorite characters of Maas’ because of her total badassery. In ACOMAF it is revealed that Feyre not only is a High Fae, but she also contains a drop of power from each of the seven High Lords. Like what even?! Feyre is clearly an extremely powerful Fae. In ACOMAF, that is demonstrated clearly, in ACOTAR 3 though, I am definitely excited to see Feyre whip out her abilities and beat some ass.

I’m sorry this portion of the review is so hectic, but seriously, I have some intense thoughts. Okay lets move on to Rhys. Who knew he was such an adorable cinnamon with a kind and gentle heart. Rhys has definitely been added to my list of book boyfriends. I seriously died whenever he went and comforted Feyre from her nightmares.

I’ll be completely honest with you…I wanted to KILL Tamlin. Tamlin was driving me nuts with his overprotectiveness and how he constantly tended to make things better with sex. Like that’s how he made it up to Feyre. I just found it absolutely ridiculous that he could think that.

Did anyone else die in the end? Because I did. At the end of ACOMAF, my heart was racing and there were goosebumps all over my arms just because Feyre becomes a High Lady. Excusez-Moi?! That was amazing. I don’t know, it just feels so iconic and powerful on Feyre’s name Jeez, I seriously cannot wait until she beats Tamlin’s ass.


What did you guys think of ACOMAF? Did it become one of your favorite books? Let me know in the comments below! 😉

IMG_2262 (1)

9 thoughts on ““To the stars who listen – and the dreams that are answered.” || Review » A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

  1. So glad you liked it! ACOMAF definitely took me by surprise, and it’s actually one of the best books I’ve read this year

    Like

  2. I agree with everything you have to say. Rhsyand is my little cinnamon bun and he will probably forever be! I definitely wanted to kill Tamlin from the first few chapters because he was being a dick. ACOMAF is now my favorite book of all time and I’m glad to see others fangirling over it a month later.
    (I think it’s kind of funny how we both scheduled our ACOMAF reviews for the same day but mine is completely spoilers and with yours people who haven’t read the book can read it.)

    Like

    1. Tamlin was just so protective, but at the same time I felt he was almost in a way kind of abusive towards Feyre. And please, I’ve been going to all of my favorite Rhys and rereading them, I’ve done this at least 5 times!!! 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so glad you enjoyed this one so much Claire! I agree – it was such a satisfying sequel and that ending just tore me apart. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I haven’t read anything by Maas yet (I KNOW! Ring the Shame Bell) but I’m curious about your comment that readers get upset about how she changes the characters. To me, that would be a good thing. I’m not the same person this year as I was last year, and so on.

    That kind of reminds me of the criticism of Tamora Pierce’s Bloodhound, which was set several years after the first two books and everyone acted all shocked that Beka, the mc, was older. ???

    Like

    1. OMG WHAT. YOU HAVEN’T? You need to! I think it a good thing too, the Tamora Pierce thing is just dumb, of course the main character from the first two books is older! XD I haven’t read any of her books yet…

      Like

Leave a Reply

