Horse by Day…Man by Night || ARC Review » My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

22840421My Lady Jane
Author:
Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows
Series: Standalone
Genre(s):
Historical Fiction, Romance, Adventure, Fantasy
Release Date: 
5/7/16

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads 

Goodreads Description

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.
At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane gets to be Queen of England.

FullSizeRender (18)

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows, the trio better known as the Lady Janies create a story where history is rewritten, magic exists and a sweet touch of comedy is implemented to the entire plot.

The main character Lady Jane Grey is written as a snarky, strong, intelligent bookworm who refuses to bow down to any one. Clearly, Jane is definitely a headstrong character making her lovable and funny. I loved reading about Jane. She was written perfectly, a very deep character that had a lot of personality. As the story is written from three different perspectives, we also hear from King Edward, Lady Jane Grey’s cousin. Edward is a dying King. I enjoyed reading about his character, his weird epiphanies and startling personality and love towards Jane is sweet. Finally we have Gifford. Gifford is a horse. At first, Gifford seemed to be a very cold and unlikable character, but as the story progressed I definitely found to like his character so much more. He is funny and though he isn’t swoon worthy or anything, his character was very true which I loved.

The plot the Lady Janies has created is phenomenal. When I picked up an ARC of this book at Yallwest 2016 I knew I wanted to read it, but I was unsure of when I wanted to read it. It wasn’t at the top of my TBR. Eventually, I picked it up and was entranced. This is definitely the first 5 star read that I wasn’t expecting to be 5 stars. The plot was paced so well, and when it wasn’t full of action, there was enough drama and romance to fill in the rest of the plot. Let’s just say My Lady Jane had lots of deceit I was not expecting.

One of my favorite things about My Lady Jane was the humor in it. I’ve noticed that there are so many books that have such dark themes in them. But clearly, My Lady Jane is a book that was making me laugh out loud as I was reading.

I want to finish off this review discussing the writing. The writing was fantastic. Everything about it was just perfect. The descriptions, the details, the research that the Lady Janies did clearly was very well done. I could easily imagine everything that was going on in the story. I highly recommend My Lady Jane to anyone who likes a funny light rea with romance and tons of action and deceit! Have you bought this book yet? Do you plan on reading this book? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

 

IMG_2262 (1)

 

4 thoughts on “Horse by Day…Man by Night || ARC Review » My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Leave a Reply

