“The Crown’s Game was not one to lose.” || Review » The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

 photo CrownsGame-hc-c1-678x1024_zpsfqsobuo0.jpgThe Crown’s Game
Author: Evelyn Skye
Series:
The Crown’s Game #1 
Genre(s):
Fantasy, Romance
Release Date: 5/17/16
Stars: 3 STARS

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

Goodreads Description

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the Tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.

And so he initiates the Crown’s Game, an ancient duel of magical skill—the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the Tsar’s most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.
Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter—even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?
For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown’s Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with—beautiful, whip smart, imaginative—and he can’t stop thinking about her.
And when Pasha, Nikolai’s best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love… or be killed himself.
As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear… the Crown’s Game is not one to lose.

FullSizeRender (20)
The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye is a young adult fantasy novel about two teenagers with magical gifts, better known as enchanters. Vika’s own abilities revolve around elemental magic while her competitor’s abilities are more centered around mechanics. Both teenagers must compete to the death for the title of Imperial Enchanter.

The Crown’s Game was one of my most anticipated reads of 2016 and unfortunately, it did not meet the hype, or my standards. The story was a well thought out story, a good concept, but I expected just so much more. By no means was the book bad, but it definitely wasn’t one I loved. Personally, I felt the characters to be flat. They didn’t have much depth to them, Pasha, the third point in our love triangle seemingly was either angry, distressed or in love with Vika. Vika is a fierce girl, but she didn’t seem to have much of a past, she didn’t have a very interesting personality I felt. Finally, Nikolai. Nikolai probably had the most character, he had conflicted feelings, he took risks and protected his friends.

Moving to the plot, I enjoyed the plot. There were plenty of POV’s but not so many, or written in such a way that it became crowded and annoying. The plot moved well paced. It kept me hooked for the majority of the story, continuously wanting more. I have only one complaint about the whole plot. I wish there had been more action. The premise of the story is a magical  competition. I was expecting some serious badass magical fighting. Unfortunately, I didn’t get that and was severally disappointed. There definitely was magic, but not the kind I was looking for.

The writing was good. Though not spectacularly amazing, it was decent. I definitely think that Skye is a brilliant and talented writer. Though there wasn’t much world building to the entirety of the story, I felt the magic and the descriptions of the world The Crown’s Game took place in was well done.

Overall, I give The Crown’s Game 3 dots. I’m calling stars dots now by the way guys! I didn’t quite love it but I think what got me most was my disappointment after all the hype.
FullSizeRender (20)Did you guys like The Crown’s Game? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

IMG_2937

7 thoughts on ““The Crown’s Game was not one to lose.” || Review » The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

  1. SIGH. This was one of my most anticipated of 2016 too, but I’ve pretty much given up on it since the reviews started coming in. I think it’s just gonna let me down way too much. (also that love triangle sounds….very unnecessary….)

    Like

  2. I agree with you too in terms of the characters feeling flat. The plot was great and writing was just average. I wrote a review a few days ago and rated it the same, 3 stars (dots, lol)!

    Like

  3. I heard some pretty mixed things about this book and im struggling because I really wanted to read it but not if its as bad as people say it is

    Like

  4. I just finished reading and have similar complaints. I didn’t care about any of the characters either. Yeah, it’s sad someone has to die, but that’s the general feeling of sympathy for someone just because they’re human. I didn’t care about any of the characters individuals.

    I also thought there was something off about the magic, which I hope to talk about in my review. All the magic done in the competition is fluffy, frivolous stuff. Which is fine, but I wish the book had just embraced that and been a charming story about beautiful magic. Instead, it tries to be all epic and dire and talk about upcoming war. So…why doesn’t the magic match that? I get that I’m supposed to believe creating a water fountain in a river requires an enormous amount of power and is therefore impressive. However, this is a world where basically no one believes in magic. How would the tsar, the guy supposedly judging this, even know that painting a row of houses or making a water fountain is “impressive?” He wanted a royal enchanter to help him lead a war, so give the man what he wants! Enchant him an army of rock soldiers or something. It’s like neither person in the game understood how to appeal to their audience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

