Discussion » Unrealistic Relationships in the YA Genre

Today I want to talk to all of you guys about unrealistic relationships in the young adult genre. By relationships, I specifically mean romantic relationships. I really want to talk about romantic relationships because after a while, you begin to realize how unrealistic these relationships are. I mean let’s be honest, the first guy you meet in high school probably isn’t your soul mate. The first guy you meet in high school probably isn’t insanely cute or charming. Let’s be honest here, the first guy you meet isn’t gonna be the perfect guy.

There are SO many books that have a female main character meeting the perfect guy and BAM! together forever. Oh sure, there are up’s and down’s, that’s what makes up the story, but COME ON.

Books that Have this Situation

  • The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry
  • The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkins
  • Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout
  • City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  • Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Do any of these female main characters stop and think, wow, this guy is an asshole. Like, seriously, it is very unrealistic. Now I’m not saying this is “bad” , it’s a fiction novel, anything can happen. But I’m very curious as to how such situations were created, the theme is just so common in nearly all YA books.

There are pro’s and con’s to unrealistic relationships in YA.

A pro is that it is definitely a nice fluffy read. It’s a nice day out, the sun is shining, and damn, cutesy main character just got her first kiss from the hottest guy on the planet. And the reader is giggling like a maniac and dancing around the room like nut job.

A con is the basic unrealistic version of going on your first date EVER and wow, looks like the two are soulmates and are destined to be together forever. Like puh-leez. There are so many people that never date through high school. Guess what? In about half the YA books I’ve read, the chick meets her future in high school.

At the same time, I also think unrealistic romantic relationships also set the scene for the book. It tells a good story. It gives it angst and drama. Something that us readers just eat up. I cannot be the only person that starts hyperventilating while reading contemporary. FullSizeRender (20)

What do you think of unrealistic romantic relationships in YA? Good? Bad? Doesn’t matter? Tell me in the comments! 🙂 Thanks for reading guys!

IMG_2937

8 thoughts on “Discussion » Unrealistic Relationships in the YA Genre

  1. I pretty much agree with you. I get that the relationships aren’t always realistic, and it can be frustrating to read a lot in a row…but I do really enjoy them. I want romance and happily ever afters and such. I have to give some leeway to standalones, too, where, if you want a romance, it has to happen fast. At least series give you the opportunity to develop the romance over several books. (And I know at least a couple people who married their high school sweethearts, so while it’s definitely not the only option, it does happen!)

    Like

  2. THIS. The more YA novels I read, the more I seem to notice these unrealistic relationships, so I am so glad you brought this up. In my opinion, even if a book is fiction, it should still be somewhat realistic and plausible, and that extends to romance as well. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

  3. I actually haven’t noticed this happening so much in newer YA books tbh. XD I mean, yes it’s definitely a popular trope! But I wouldn’t say the majority of YA books have the “hottest guy on the planet” trope hahaaha, thank goodness because omg it gets annoying fast. I guess I understand that books don’t have to be realistic. Because if they were 1000% realistic they’d probably be boring.😂 But yeeeeeah it is weird how so many teens meet their OTP in highschool in books.

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

Leave a Reply

