Being Content with Your Blog Stats

 photo IMG_3133_zps3z4nhq2w.jpgBlog stats are something that I’m sure every single one of you reading this has worried about. Blog stats are something that some bloggers use to define a “good” blogger, or a “successful” blogger.

But in truth, you’re a successful blogger the second you create your URL and launch your blog. All your blog needs is to be created and already it is a success, and I mean this mostly to you. You can finally consider yourself a book blogger. As for a “good” blogger, all bloggers are “good.” Some bloggers blog for the wrong reasons and that isn’t good, and I mean this in the way that they purposely aware they are only blogging for ARCs or whatever. But ALL bloggers are good. If you review and add in what you think about the book, you’re good. There is no right way to blog.

One thing that I, myself as a blogger has experienced is blogging stats and how freaking cruel they can be. I don’t have great stats, there are bloggers that have been blogging less than I have and they have more than double the followers. Or they write these awesome creative posts that get a crazy amount of likes.

It would really bother me. 

To me, I felt like I was doing it all wrong. I felt that I had to do more to be like them, that the only way I could be like them was to take better pictures, or think of more creative posts. It’s not the way to get better stats. In fact, do the exact opposite. Be creative. Do something no one else has ever done before.

Now, I’ve learned to just be happy with what I have. Before, it was really difficult to accept the fact that they had better stats. It was definitely something I shouldn’t be worrying about but I couldn’t help it. I would think: Why didn’t I have stats like that? What were they doing different? 

But now, when I look at my follower number, 246 followers, I smile ya know? I’m happy at how far I’ve come, it may not be that much but it wasn’t easy to achieve that. So enough with the jibber jabber, my point is simply this:

Be happy with any kind of stats you have. This whole blogging deal, it is all about you. You should be proud of any number you have and keep striving for better stats yes, but just remember it isn’t the end of the world when you don’t have 500 follower after a year.

IMG_2937

 

20 thoughts on “Being Content with Your Blog Stats

  1. I agree. I’ve only started a month or two ago,and my blog stats are not good at all but I’m like the way my blog is set up and I might start a new blog tag soon.

    Like

  2. This is the kind of thing every blogger really needs to hear now and then! I feel like we all place so much importance on stats when the reality is that we’re showing up and putting things out there that complete strangers are reading. I just think that’s really freaking cool haha. And like you said, trying to copy another blogger’s path to success won’t make you successful ’cause then you’re not unique! So in the end, I guess the only thing we can all do is be ourselves and have a good time 😀

    – Rachana @ Spun

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a great post, Claire–and you’re an awesome person for putting this out there, thank you so so much for that! I agree–at the end of the day, all that matters is your confidence in yourself. You are successful in everything you do, so long as YOU believe you are. ❤

    Like

  4. This is a great post 🙂 I’ve never had a desire to change how I blog or blog like anyone else, I’m happy with just being me and doing what I do. I do for the love of books, so I’m gonna read what I like, even if it’s not popular, and I’m gonna express my genuine thoughts about the things I care about. But it can be disheartening sometimes getting so few views or comments some days or on certain posts, especially when I see other people with a million followers who’ve been blogging the same amount of time or less. And it seems like to get lots of interaction and followers, you need to popular, but in order to be popular… you need lots of interaction and followers? How does that work? Lol. But anyway, I agree, our blogs are for us, and we should just keep being ourselves and blogging however makes us happy because stressing over the stats and trying to change to fit some sort of perceived way of blogging will just make us unhappy in the end!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the comment, I can tell you spent a lot of time on it. I agree, I’m so glad you have always seen blogging as something that is you and not anyone else’s. I think one of the main ways to get “popular” is just being social, especially on Twitter. Though I agree the whole process is confusing.XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

