Am I Not Merciful? || Review » Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

23395680Illuminae
Authors: Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman
Series:
The Illuminae Files #1
Genre(s):
Science Fiction, Action
Release Date: 10/20/15
Stars:
3.75 STARS

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

Goodreads Description

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff is a fresh breath of science fiction in young adult books. Though I felt the story and concept as a whole wasn’t very unique, a pretty original story. AI gets too smart and tries to take over. But the execution was what made Illuminae so interesting and different from every other science fiction novel out there.

It took me a total of four times to get myself to read Illuminae. The main reason being the formatting. Don’t even get me started on how much the formatting drove me CRAZY. But eventually I did get used to it. I loved the characters, I was surprised how well executed they were since the entire book is made up of files and documents. I felt I could really see into Kady’s character even though the book wasn’t really from a specific perspective. Kady and Ezra’s relationship was great. I really enjoyed the fact that the book had romance, but Kady and Ezra already had an established relationship. The book wasn’t about them meeting and eventually falling in love, they were already in love the entire time. This is something I honestly don’t see very often in YA so that was definitely a nice twist.

The plot of Illuminae was up and down. The first 200 pages were really slow, interesting definitely, but not fast paced. Then in the middle shit hits the fan and you burn through 150 pages just like that and then the plot falls again. The end though was spectacular, I really enjoyed reading the end. Though the plot could have been eased out more and spread out if you know what I mean.

One of my biggest problems with Illuminae was the formatting. It didn’t bother me a huge ton to the extent of me not liking the book. In fact, the formatting was very interesting and pretty to look at. But sometimes because of the formatting I did get lost in the story. There were parts when I was very confused.

Overall, Illuminae was a great book, better than I thought it would be and I definitely had mixed feelings regarding AIDAN. 3.75 Stars out of 5, I definitely recommend it to anyone who likes science fiction, and if you haven’t read Illuminae yet, GO GO GO!

FullSizeRender (20)Thanks for reading! Have you read Illuminae yet? Did you love it? Tell me below in the comments!

IMG_2937

Leave a Reply

