Bookish Pet Peeves! Featuring Temecka from Library of Tomes!

Hey guys! First I want to thank Temecka for writing up this blog post for me! I really appreciate it tons and hope you enjoy this post! Definitely go check out her blog too!


I know that there are a lot of things that bother us as readers. It may seem like there isn’t but you’ll always find something that you didn’t like about a book or a series. Want an example? Well, I’ll share a few with you.

After trying to make this post on my booktube channel over 2 years ago, I have found that I have a lot more bookish pet peeves than 16 year old me did. Here is a list of some of my most hated bookish pet peeves.

1.) Books that don’t match

Whether this is because I have a paperback of the first book and hardcover of the rest or because there was a cover change along the way, I need my books to match. The difference in the books is going to bug me no matter what.

2.) Dog eared pages

More specifically if someone borrows one of my books and dog-ears the pages when I ask them not to. I don’t care if someone else wants to bend their pages, but please do not bend mine. I like to keep my books in the best condition possible, and those bend pages could rip sooner. No thank you.

3.) SPOILERY GOODREADS UPDATES

I know that this is a random thing to mention, but please for the love of Christ, do not update something spoilery in your Goodreads status. If you want to update about a minor spoiler that won’t affect my reading experience then be my guest, but please do not write about the cliffhanger from the end of Red Queen in your status.

4.) Forgetting e-books

I hate that I forget to read e-books. I have so many e-books on my iPad that I have yet to read because I simply forget they exist. It’s really annoying to only remember I have
e-books when my power is out, and I don’t have light to read my physical books.

5.) People who love literally every book released

How? How do you love all the books because I don’t understand? I have been disappointed by so many of the popular YA books, that I just don’t understand how you can like them all.

6.) The line “I hadn’t realized I had been holding my breath.”

JUST PLEASE STOP. You will never be able stop noticing this line in YA after you start watching for it. Every time that I stumble on this sweet little devil, I can’t help but grit my teeth and count to 10. Then I throw the book because it’s just really annoying. How do these characters not know they are holding their breath?


What are some of your bookish pet peeves? This is just a small list of some of mine, but that’s because it seems like a ton of stuff annoys me.

FullSizeRender (20)

About the Blogger:

Cl6bs3nn_400x400My name is Temecka, pronounced with a long e. I am just a girl with a love for the fictional world, and an unhealthy book-buying problem. I like long walks through the bookstore and play dates in the pool with my dog. If you want to connect with me or talk about the raven cycle, you can find me on social media or on my blog.

Twitter: @libraryoftomes
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/32996279-temecka
Instagram: @libraryoftomes
Blog: libraryoftomes.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “Bookish Pet Peeves! Featuring Temecka from Library of Tomes!

Leave a Reply

