Most Disappointing Reads of 2016 So Far

There were so many reads I had anticipating this first half of 2016. A lot of them were amazing, and definitely made the hype. But there were a lot that I was disappointed by, I wasn’t wowed in the way I want to be. Today, I’m going to be telling you some of the most disappointing releases of 2016 I’ve read.

1. The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

I was really looking forward to this book. Like REALLY REALLY looking forward to. I was over the moon excited when I got an ARC of The Crown’s Game at YallWest this year. Unfortunately, the book fell short. Poor characters, poor plot, and an insta-love relationship that I didn’t like at all. In the end I rated this book somewhere around 2.5-3 STARS.

2. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

Everyone was raging about how fantastic Truthwitch was. The street team was HUGE and looked totally fantastic. But the problem with Truthwitch was the hype. Hype is good, but Truthwitch got overhyped. Wayyy overhyped. When I read Truthwitch, I was expecting it to be mindblowingly fantastic, like Sarah J Maas fantastic, but it wasn’t. It was good, character wise, and writing wise this book was amazing, but what made it disappointing was the fact that I just thought it would be so much better.

3. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Though this book did give the classic Shadowhunters novel, it lacked an original plot. I felt that the plot was very similar to The Infernal Devices and felt that Clare could have done a lot more with the plot and made it whole new story. I loved the characters and seeing old characters though. Another thing I thought would have made the story better was the fact that it was really long. Like, way too long. I was very disappointed by Lady Midnight. 

4. Into the Dim by Janet B Taylor

Into the Dim was said to be like Outlander but in YA form. If you don’t know, I LOVE OUTLANDER. Like a seriously problematic obsession. I stood in line for 3 hours in the early hours of the morning last year at SDCC to get tickets to meet the cast. It was totally worth it….Anyway, I was so excited for Into the Dim. I was almost sure it was going to be awesome. But when I read it, I was disappointed, the concept was nearly identical to Outlander, and even some of the characters had the same names as Outlander characters. Overall, the plot of Into the Dim was not what I thought it would be and I wasn’t a fan of the book.

FullSizeRender (20)

Thankfully, there weren’t too many books this year that disappointed me! Do you guys agree? Disagree? Why? What are some books that disappointed you this year? Tell me down below! And thank you for reading!

11 thoughts on “Most Disappointing Reads of 2016 So Far

  1. Yep, exactly. I was really looking forward to The Crown’s Games, Truthwitch and Into the Dim but I just… could not get into them.
    And Lady Midnight… I really liked this book. I did. But Cassandra Clare is one of my most favorite authors of all times, and maybe it’s because of that, and because I absolutely loved TMI and TID, that I expected too much from Lady Midnight. I can’t believe I’m going to say this, but it really *was* too long. Normally, I would be ecstatic to get such a long book by an author I love. But with Lady Midniht… it just didn’t work out.
    I had the same expirience with Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan. Which, for me, was even more disappointing than Lady Midnight.
    Still. I love those two authors. They can do no wrong (:

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Like

  2. I’m sorry these books weren’t what you expected! Hype can be a tricky thing- sometimes you find it spot on and other times you’re left so disappointed. Luckily, I don’t think I’ve had any very disappointing books this year. That also could be because I have not read a ton in the last 6 months.
    I haven’t read any of the books you mentioned (unless you count the first 8 pagss of Truthwitch), so I don’t really have a good or bad opinion on any of them. But having Into the dim pitched as similar to Outlander and then finding it was more of a copy? That sounds awful.
    Thank you for posting! And *raises coffee mug* here’s to better books in the future.

    Like

  3. UGH Truthwitch. I tried so hard with that book. I put off reading it, finally picked it up and put it down multiple times. I was so beyond disappointed. My whole Twitter feed was full of rave reviews. I kind of got caught up in the hype, so I totally understand. WAAAAYYY too much hype. I haven’t read the other books yet. I’m waiting a while so I don’t fall into the Truthwitch trap.

    Like

  4. I’ve heard that about The Crown’s Game from a lot of different people so I think I’ve just decided to never read it, haha. Also NOOOOO TRUTHWITCH. I was SO excited for it but then kind of didn’t have time. I just bought it last week when it showed up on BookOutlet so now I’m excited all over again! I haven’t read the other two and don’t plan to, but I think the biggest disappoint for me was that one NA series everyone is obsessed with by the Ritchie sisters? I think the first one is called Addicted to You or something? I wasn’t really excited about reading but everyone RAVES about it and I basically wanted to throw up the whole time I was reading it.

    Like

  5. I was disappointed with The Crown’s Game too Claire, so you’re definitely not alone. And I’ve heard a lot of mediocre things about Truthwitch so now I’m kind of hesitant to read it. 😐 Sorry that these were all so disappointing…it’s never fun to feel let down. 😦

    Like

  6. Going to be honest here, I loved the sneek peak of Truthwitch when it was available on Netgalley. I was super excited, loved the storyline, loved the character, couldn’t wait to read the whole thing. But by the time the book actually came out and tried to read it, I couldn’t.

    the hyped killed it. completely. and. utterly. killed. it.

    Now usually, I don’t mind reading most hyped books, but for Truthwitch it got way out of hand, and it was simply too much. So I was super disappointed when the hyped killed the book for me. I pretty much anything that has to do with it.

    Like

    1. I never read the sampler, the samplers really make me want the book more and I just, it makes me upset I can’t get it NOW. omg I am so sorry the hype killed you. TW hype was crazy. Like- INSANE. Thank you for stopping by and comment! 🙂

      Like

  7. YES YES YES to Crown’s Game and Truthwitch! I could not get into either of them! (And I was so excited for both which was disappointing…)

    Like

Leave a Reply

