July Uppercase Book Subscription Box Review!

img_3371
Hello everyone! The amazing Lisa Parkin, a blogger at Read Breath Relax sent me one of her lovely Uppercase boxes this month of July. I was over the moon excited for this gorgeous box.

The book of the month was This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. A YA book that debuted at #1 on the NYT bestsellers list and is full of monsters and mayhem.

img_3359
Personally, I guessed that This Savage Song would be the lucky choice of the month as I had seen pictures of the Uppercase box wrapped up before they got sent off and I also knew that This Savage Song was definitely one of the top books of the month. It wasn’t too hard to guess. Fortunately for me, I had not yet picked up a finished copy of TSS and was glad to finally get my hands on it. On the other hand, I do know that many other people have already picked up this book and to add on to this, the people who also are subscribed to Owlcrate received This Savage Song as well.

img_3358

Within my box I received:

  • This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
  • Human or Monster? Pin
  • Fun set of bookish notepads/post its
  • Exclusive Uppercase Pencils with Bookish Sayings

I liked the pin, it is definitely cute and am probably going to end up putting it on my backpack for school. It is a simpler design and though I don’t know if it is exclusive or anything, but I do really like it.

I also really loved the bookish stationary. The notepad is hand because school is coming up (unfortunately) and it might come it handy. I also want to get into the habit of post it noting my favorite parts in books and these sticky notes will definitely be coming in handy. 

The pencils are very cute, though I don’t actually use the good old original pencil anymore, I like them for aesthetic purposes and bookstagram shots.

Overall, I really did like my box, I think book subscription boxes are great and it really can make your day. Though I do have to say I felt the special items within the box could have been better. I understand that Uppercase doesn’t cost as much as competitor book boxes and because of that, the items aren’t as high quality or whatever you would like to call it. But at the same time, I feel like these items though they might be helpful to me, they are also “shove in a drawer and forget about it” swag. Stuff that I could possible not use ever. I aim this mostly towards the pencils, though they are cute, I probably won’t ever actually use them.

I would probably rate this box around 3.75 stars out of 5, maybe 4 stars out of 5. I definitely recommend Uppercase to anyone looking for a book subscription box on the cheaper side, but at the same time, just remember you get what you pay for. I have gotten Uppercase before and I do like it, overall the brand is a solid 4.5-5 stars but this time it just fell short.

IMG_2937

 

 

Leave a Reply

