Summer Blogger Promo Tour! Featuring Lizzie from Big Books and Grande Lattes

 photo N1VwnSkI_zpsdx88yf6i.jpgHello everyone! Today, Lizzie and I are each going to be doing our own little mini discussions on a certain trope we have picked. Lizzie and I had a hard time thinking of an idea so this just happened to come to mind! I am so excited to share with you all what we came up with! 🙂

FullSizeRender (20)

Hey everyone! I’m Lizzie from “http://www.bigbooksandgrandelattes.blogspot.com/” Big Books and Grande Lattes, and I’m excited to be here for the Summer Blog Promo Tour! Today I’m going to talk about one of my least favorite tropes: the manwhore/player guy.

I know plenty of people love this type of character. When he meets the love of his life, he decides to completely change his sleeping around ways and become totally monogamous with just girl. This girl is just super special enough to make him want to change his ways right after they meet.

*eye roll*

The reason why I don’t like it is because it doesn’t seem realistic. The fact that this one girl can completely change this guy’s personality seems far-fetched. He’s the type of guy that takes pride in his looks and his way with women. I don’t think there are many young men that would choose to stop having fun and commit to just one when they’ve essentially been told they can be with any woman.

Another reason that I don’t like it is because the girl is typically the virginal, wide-eyed sweet girl who’s never had a boyfriend. I feel like it perpetuates the idea that it’s okay for men to have sexual experience, but not for women. That women must stay innocent until they meet “The One.” With this, there can be subtle (or not so subtle) slut-shaming, especially when there is a rival love interest or former flame. I know that some girls do believe in waiting until they meet the perfect guy, but there’s no need to judge girls who don’t feel the same way. What kind of message does this give?

Overall, I think the reason I hate this trope so much is because I’ve interacted with so many guys that are like this. It gets annoying having to deal with their egos and boasting about how many girls they’ve been with. I hardly ever see it the other way around, and I think that would be a nice shake up to this trope, even if it can be annoying.

Thanks for reading, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the tour!


Hi guys! Claire here, and I want to talk to you guys about one trope I do like. I like the love triangle trope. And I know just about everyone in the book community hates love triangles, clearly I’m a rarity because I love them.

The main reason why I like them is because they are unrealistic. As a reader, I know they are unrealistic and I’m not looking for my very own love triangle in the future, but reading one is always nice. Mostly because of its unrealistic ways, when I read, I want to read about the impossible and the rarities. Not stuff that happens everyday, I see it everyday already and don’t need to see it even more in the stories I read.

Though love triangles are becoming less common, and the few that are still being written are written quite well, I want to point out that the infamous love triangle has evolved. It has evolved into something more…dun dun duuuuuun! I present to you, The Love Square. Oh yes ladies and gentlemen, the love square is a thing and that is absolutely what I am calling it. Many readers have spotted more than two characters pining over another.

Some people argue that love triangles are too cheesy and are unrealistic. But every reader needs a little fluff in their life. Love triangles are one of the main providers of fluff and I think they can even benefit to the story in some ways.

FullSizeRender (20)

Lizzie’s Contact Info

Blog: Big Books and Grande Lattes
Twitter: @LizzieSarcastic
Instagram: lizziesarcastic

What do you guys think about these tropes? Let me know down below in the comments! 🙂

IMG_2937

Leave a Reply

