A Lack of Magic || ARC Review » Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

 photo 28110143_zpsidq7x7eh.jpgFurthermore
Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: Standalone 😦

Genre(s): MG, Action, Adventure
Release Date: 8/30/16
Stars: 4 STARS

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

Goodreads Description

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit—and with a liar by her side in land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

 Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi is a young adult novel with younger characters. Everything about the story screamed YA, from the relationships, to the speed of the plot, the only think making the story middle grade was the characters. I loved Furthmore. At first, I definitely thought the book would not suit my tastes but I might as well give it a shot, by the time I was done I was in love with the book.

The characters of Furthermore aren’t necessarily extremely unique or outstanding or deep in a specific way, but they are definitely memorable and while reading the story I learned to love them. Alice was someone I really loved especially because I feel like she was one of those characters we can all somewhat relate to in some way. Lacking all color, Alice has no magic and is an outsider. I have to assume we’ve all felt left out at some point and Mafi writes Alice in a way that causes me as the reader to sympathize. Oliver on the other hand was someone I wanted to smack repeatedly. Though I did love his character, had this been a YA novel, I could see, Oliver definitely would have been the love interest. Oliver was a really well developed character, he had his quirks and his downsides and that was really the best part, seeing how human he was and how he he did indeed mess up. 

The plot was well done, though the plot is where this book lost it’s last star. The beginning I found to be a little slow, maybe the first 50 or 80 pages. The middle of the story was perfect, well paced, a good piece of action/suspense here and there and BAM perfect! Then we have the ending. The ending was mainly the part that made my eye twitch. The ending was rushed, so so rushed in my opinion. It felt like all the work they had been doing was in a way, for nothing because the solution was solved so quickly.

Finally, the world building. I have the feeling Furthermore is loosely based on Lewis Carrol’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Especially since our main character is name Alice. The world Mafi created was stunning and spectacular. It was very creative and I could picture Furthermore in my mind like a movie. The cover of the book also helps tons too.

I did not like Mafi’s first trilogy, Shatter Me. I read the first book and disliked it. That is mainly why I was uneasy when I was going in to reading Furthermore. But in the end, I did end up very much enjoying it and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a light fun read. Furthermore is also kind of funny, and though the characters are only 12 and 13, I suppose you could imagine them to be older!
FullSizeRender (20)

Have you read Furthermore yet? What did you think? Let me know down below!

IMG_2937

4 thoughts on “A Lack of Magic || ARC Review » Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

