Be Careful What You Wish For… || ARC Review » Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

 photo 27969081_zpszgi4ba28.jpgLabyrinth Lost
Author: Zoraida Córdova
Series: Brooklyn Brujas #1

Genre(s): Paranormal, Action, Fiction
Release Date: 9/6/16
Stars: 4 STARS

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

Goodreads Description

Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange marks on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova is a fresh burst in YA. Full of diversity and a great spice of Latin American tradition, Labyrinth Lost was unlike any other book I’ve come across in YA. The story surrounds bruja Alex who dislikes her powers, and when come time to fully embrace her powers, she instead decides to get rid of them. In doing so, she dearly messes up the canto, or spell and sends her entire family to the equivalent of purgatory, or Los Lagos.

One of my favorite things about Labyrinth Lost was the setting and the culture that stood out so well in it. I could so easily picture Los Lagos, though through majority of the story, the land is barren and dead, I could still picture the descriptions of ancient places so well. Oh my gosh, I just loved how well the culture was blended in throughout the story, it was everywhere. In the characters, the world, the rituals, all of it! It was truly amazing and it was probably the best part of the entire novel.

The character development was honestly okay in my opinion. I really enjoyed reading about Alex, Nova and Rishi but at the same time I felt they weren’t very deep. The diversity was good, totally shippable and totally saw it coming, but the characters were just not very deep in my opinion. I felt they definitely could have had more to their characters.

The plot was quick and very well done. In my opinion, the main thing that makes a book good, is the story. A book can have the best character development, the best setting/world building, but if the story itself is lacking, plot wise and story wise, then what is there to tell. Labyrinth Lost kept me up at night way too late, it hooked you in and refused to let go. Really well done with pacing. My only bug about it was the end. I felt the ending was a bit rushed, it felt almost as if everything had happened way too fast and easy. I remember asking myself at the end: That’s it? That’s how easy it was? I wanted there to be more of a challenge in the end.

Overall, Labyrinth Lost was an engaging read that kept me hooked throughout. A well told story with beautiful world building and great character development. Not to mention the diversity! I highly recommend Labyrinth Lost to any reader who enjoys witches, action, adventure and of course, diversity!FullSizeRender (20)

Have I convinced you enough? Have you read Labyrinth Lost yet? What did you think? Let me know down below in the comments!

IMG_2937

 

 

6 thoughts on “Be Careful What You Wish For… || ARC Review » Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova

Leave a Reply

