Discussion // What do you think about prequel novels?

PREQUELS PREQUELS PREQUELS! Hello everyone! Today I’m going to be discussing prequels (if you haven’t guessed already). If you don’t know, prequels are books that take place before the original story, sometimes they’re a money grab and sometimes the author actually means to make a real story out of them. Sometimes, the prequels are even better than the main series. Well, enough talk, let’s get to what I think about prequels.

Prequels Being Written to for Money

When I think of prequels being written for money, the first author I think of is Cassandra Clare. That woman has officially milked the Shadowhunter world. I think any prequel being written for money should not be written. Writing is a passion, right? That means that any book that you write should be because you have a fantastic idea and you want to truly write a book regardless if it sells. It should be because you love it.

I’m not saying that Clare doesn’t love writing, but I can say, all the drama about plagiarism makes me want to steer clear. Her prequel series The Infernal Devices is actually better in my opinion than the main series, The Mortal Instruments. I doubt it was on purpose. But we all know that if that series wasn’t written for money, I can tell you the rest of her series’ in the Shadow world are. Who writes a sequel series to the prequel series?! When does something come to an end? As they say…all good things come to an end.

Do I Read Prequel Novels?

It depends. If the series is one of my most favorite books ever, then I probably will. But typically I lean away from prequels because for one, they are either ebooks that are overpriced, they come in a special edition of a book that I can’t afford, or I just have no interest in buying a book with different characters other than the ones I love from the main series.

Have you read any prequels before? Here are some books with prequels down below. Some of them I’ve read, some I haven’t!

  • The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare
  • The Assassins Blade by Sarah J Maas
  • The Kill Order by James Dashner
  • The Fever Code by James Dashner
  • Extras by Scott Westerfield
  • Tiger’s Promise by Colleen Houck

The Benefits of Prequel Novels (from the readers perspective)

Though prequels can be a pain in the butt, there are some benefits for the reader. How things came to be and that kind of thing. For example, Cassandra Clare did an excellent job doing this with her Infernal Devices series. It was also written so much better than TMI which also helped. Prequels can also be fun to see the ‘before’ aspect of a story and what life was like before the events that lead up to the main series.

Overall, though I enjoy reading some prequels, I also can find prequels to be really unnecessary sometimes. I also dislike when authors write prequels only to make money, it makes me sad that simple things like books are now about money instead of passion.

FullSizeRender (20)

What prequels have you read? Did you like them just as much as the main series? Tell me down below in the comments and thanks for reading!

IMG_2262 (1)

8 thoughts on “Discussion // What do you think about prequel novels?

  1. The Assassin’s Blade is actually my favorite of all the Throne of Glass books, I loved it so much. To be fair, it was recommended by many people for me to read it as the first book and then continue on to Throne of Glass, so it didn’t really feel like a prequel to me as much as it felt like a first book in a series. I’m thrilled to read sequels, especially if it’s from a favorite author who is continuing a beloved series. Like I would read a Leigh Bardugo sequel in a heartbeat XD

    Brittany @ Brittany’s Book Rambles

    Like

    1. really? I’ve never heard that one before! Lucky you got to read it as the first book! Of course you would read a Bardugo sequel….😂 I totally could see a sequel about Nina- I have no clue why…

      Like

  2. I am soooo not a fan of prequels, haha. The only one I think I want is a Marauders prequel, which I AM NEVER GOING TO GET.

    I think part of it is that most of the time, they’re novellas – and I can’t stand novellas. When they’re an entire series, maybe. Not so much with The Infernal Devices because I don’t really like CC’s novels, but if it was in a world I loved, I could definitely love a prequel in either series form or an actual novel. However, I can’t think of any series I really want that for besides HP! Or maybe an Inej prequel about her life before and how she met Kaz. But that’s literally it haha

    Like

  3. This is such an interesting question because it really depends. I’m a fan of prequels if they actually add something to the story and have a clear, distinct purpose. (This is probably because I feel like some prequels are rather pointless and don’t tell us much we don’t know, and are only written for publicity purposes.) Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous discussion! ❤

    Like

  4. I think prequels can definitely add something to the story. I was so disappointed by the infernal devices and just everything that can after the mortal instruments. I think when you turn a book into a franchise you definitely loose something. Plus I have yet to see a film that has even compared to its book or a prequel that has been worth reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

