What is the Deciding Factor in Your Next Read?

 photo phonto1_zpsjrqwfa3f.jpgWe finish a book. Sometimes the book was physically soul wrenching and there are literally tears running down your face. Sometimes you’re smiling, happy at the ending of one story. Sometimes you’re so happy and feeling so many different emotions at the same time, you just feel exhausted. This can often lead to one of those dreaded book slumps sometimes.

But the nest question is, what is the deciding factor in your next read?

What makes you decide to read a contemporary, or a fantasy? Maybe something new like an autobiography? What is that deciding factor?! The worst case scenario is, there is no deciding factor, you literally cannot think of what to read next and it kills you. But most of the time there is something that makes you decide on your next read. Today’s post will be about just that if you haven’t guessed already.

Done with your Fantasy Book?

Most of the time, after I read a heavy fantasy book I enjoy reading a light contemporary. Usually extremely fluffy books with some drama, heartbreak and this book usually follows every typical contemporary trope. Me likes cutesy love stories.

I usually like the fluffy reads because fluffy reads turn my insides to goo and that is the best feeling EVER. Also, usually fantasy books, especially very good fantasy books…aka anything written by Sarah J Maas, could literally give you a mini heart attack from simply reading it. Contemporary is a good way to pull yourself back into a half reality of the real world, but a fun, unrealistic and light love story with the drama.

Some great contemporary books that really turn your insides to goo are:

  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
  • PS I Like You by Kasie West

Done with your Contemporary Book?

Usually once I’m done with any contemporary, I am done with contemporary for awhile. I myself don’t particularly enjoy read contemporary books unless it is summertime. For some weird reason, but once I’m done, I’m usually hungry for a fantasy book or a book that I know will be absolutely fantastic. These are usually ARCs I’ve requested and have heard nothing but amazing things, or they are books that I’ve been anticipating forever but haven’t had the chance to pick it up.

Books that I know will be fantastic are always the best to read because you go in with high expectations. You know it will be fantastic so you have a really strong urge to read it opposed to another book on your TBR that you do want to read but you don’t really want to read it like this book you’ve been waiting at least a year for!

Some books that are fantastic are:

  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  • Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber
  • The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee

Done with that Book that Made You Cry Ugly Tears?

There have only a couple books out there that had me in tears. To name them specifically, The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith, All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven and This Star Won’t Go Out: The Life and Words of Esther Earl by Esther Earl. Usually the reason why a book gets me in tears is because it is usually pretty deep and dark. This usually pushes me towards something funny or contemporary. Or, sometimes, because I’m now sad and forever moved by a book, I go to one of my comfort reads and reread my favorite parts.

Comfort reads especially always make me smile, it is a great feeling while reading books, to grin like a madwoman. And that usually gets me back in the mood to read, or crying again because it is a sad part in my comfort read.

Some funny and comfort reads of mine are:

  • My Lady Jane by Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton, and Cynthia Hand
  • The Archived by Victoria Schwab
  • Uprooted by Naomi Novik
  • Splintered by AG Howard
  • A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

Done with a Science Fiction Novel?

For me personally, I don’t particularly enjoy read Science Fiction as much as I do fantasy or contemporary. The only science fiction novel I really liked was Divergent and Illuminae. I didn’t even really like The Hunger Games very much. But on the rare occasion that I do read and actually finish a science fiction book, I’m usually ready to dive back into a fantasy novel.

Science fiction novels are great, but on the other hand, the concepts don’t appeal to me as much as other genres. That is the main reason why I go back to a fantasy. Can you tell that fantasy is my favorite genre?

Some of my favorite Fantasy reads are:

  • The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • Air Awakens by Elise Kova

 

So What is the Deciding Factor in Your Next Read?

Well, since I haven’t directly answered this question, the deciding factor in your next read is the book you read before! Occasionally the season also decides what your next read is, but most of the time, it is the book you read before. Sometimes you might read the same genre over and over and over again. But for me personally, I probably won’t, I like to mix things up. For instance: I cannot read one whole series, one book after the next, I need breaks from the world!

FullSizeRender (20)

Did you enjoy this post? Do you have the same deciding factor in your next read? Let me know what you think down below in the comments! 🙂

IMG_2262 (1)

 

 

4 thoughts on “What is the Deciding Factor in Your Next Read?

  1. You seem so organized! I’m not sure I have much of an reason for reading anything at all besides “Ooh, that looks good right now!” I don’t purposely mix up genres or anything. :p

    Like

  2. I also like to alternate genres. I try to select a variety of books for my monthly TBR pile, but sometimes it just comes down to release dates or my review schedule.

    Like

Leave a Reply

