“Nameless is my price” // Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

 photo EOS_zpssxu4bjdm.jpgEmpire of Storms 
Author: Sarah J Maas
Series: Throne of Glass Series
Genre(s): High Fantasy, Romance, Action
Release Date: 9/06/16
Stars:
4 STARS

| Buy on Amazon
| Buy on B&N
| Add to Goodreads

Goodreads Description

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

But please be aware, this is the fifth book of the series, and some minor spoilers from past books will be revealed.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas is the fifth installment of her Throne of Glass series. Though part of the same series, Empire of Storms could easily take on a new series in itself. The concepts from the third book in the series and on is just so incredibly different than the first two books.

The plot of the story was hands down fantastic. While Queen of Shadows had its slow moments, Empire of Storms never slowed down, not for a second. I really enjoyed this about the book. Throughout the book, the characters and multiple points of view from other characters really pulled in to one story at this point. In the past books, Manon was definitely not a favorite, but in Empire of Storms I really enjoyed her characters company. But I must say, the end of the plot was basically the same plot twist in A Court of Mist and Fury and that really bothered me. Maas could have come up with something more creative.

The characters for the most part, were spot on. Aelin was, well, Aelin. Snarky, badass in every way. And all the other characters, especially characters we didn’t connect with in the past books like Lysandra and Aedion really got their own part in the story. You get to see a little bit more of their history. As for Dorian, I was severely concerned. Dorian has always been quiet, definitely a gentlemen and definitely a reader. By no means is Dorian a ladies man. But in Empire of Storms, it is almost as if Dorian is no longer Dorian. His character changes dramatically and in ways I did not like. I felt like there were no indications whatsoever about Dorian’s sudden change. Don’t even get me started on Chaol. Chaol is a main character in the Throne of Glass series. Yes, I ship Rowan and Aelin, but that does not mean you get to just kick out Chaol. I feel like he is essential to the plot and having at least his point of view in the story would have been nice.

Moving to the sexy scenes in Empire of Storms. For me personally, a few sex scenes, like two, are nice. They give the story heat. But in Empire of Storms there were sex scenes everywhere. I swear, there were. They were mentioned in too often in unnecessary ways. I was tired of hearing about Aelin remembering last night and the sound Rowan makes, I was tired of Aedion smelling Dorian’s horniness on Manon. It was just so tiring and I really wanted to just get back to the story.

Finally, I want to talk about the new places and the characters from The Assassin’s Blade that popped up throughout the story. Personally, I don’t remember every single place that was in The Assassin’s Blade. I just don’t, I read those novellas a couple years ago and though I vaguely do remember the places and characters, a refresher would be nice. As these new characters showed up and these place from the novellas appeared, I was surprised and it was for sure nice to see these old characters, having Maas sum up these characters again would have been a nice idea.

Overall, Empire of Storms was fantastic, I really liked it. I must say that it is the first book of Maas’ that I had problems with. That was disappointing. Sarah J Maas definitely has her storytelling on point. She created such a fantastic plot and kept the pace up to perfection, but the general problem for me was the sex scenes. Not because they were more NA than YA, but because they occurred far too often in ways that made me cringe.

FullSizeRender (20)

Have you read Empire of Storms yet? What did you think? Did the ending kill you? I’d love to know down below in the comments!

IMG_2262 (1)

Leave a Reply

