How To Create An Online Presence

Creating an online presence is important, especially in the blogging world. If no one knows who you are, who’s gonna read what you got? For me, it took a couple months to create my own online presence. I would start with Twitter. I’ve been on Twitter for only a little over a year and have 1665 followers. Today I’m gonna be giving some tips to building an online presence. Get excited guys, because I am!

1. Social Media Queen

Social media is key. Get a Twitter account and an Instagram account and a Tumblr page. All of these contribute to who you are online in their own way. For bookish purposes specifically, I would go with Twitter first. Twitter carries a huge book blogging community and people are so much fun to talk to there!

Getting these account may be easy, but your work isn’t done. You need to post! No one will see you if you don’t say anything inquisitive, thoughtful or funny. Be yourself there and be social. That’s all I can say, at least for Twitter. As for Instagram, definitely try and take pictures and post whenever you can. Instagram is definitely tougher to create a presence on because it is less social and more image based. Tumblr…I personally am not a Tumblr person, I don’t prefer it over IG and Twitter, but I can say Tumblr is a spontaneous mush pot of everything. Fandom. Smut. Mean People. Aesthetics. It’s crazy.

2. Make Friends on Social Media

You may not have a lot of followers, but find a good friend of two! It is so exciting to have a friend you can always go to to scream in their face about books. Find that friend. If one friends sees you chatting with their friend, maybe you’ll get another friend! Don’t be afraid to follow either. The trick to making friends and gaining followers is not only producing content people want to see in their feed, but following as many peeps as you can in the blogging community!

3. Twitter Chats

I don’t know if you know, but there are lots of Twitter chats out there. There has got to be at least one chat every week. If you don’t know what they are, basically there is a special hashtag and someone running the chat with fun bookish questions and everyone participating answers. From their everyone basically hangs out and are able to find tons of new people to hang out with on the Twitterverse.

4. Your Blog!

If you have a blog, you’re in luck. With it, you have your own little space on the interwebs! Yay! That’s fun and cool. One of the reasons why I love blogging is mainly because it is mine. Not to sound rude, but it is. It is mine and I can put whatever I want on it. I can decorate it however I want. I can advertise it how I want. And you can too. Having a blog is the perfect representation of a slice of YOU. And there is nothing more important than that.

5. Youtube!

Not everyone is a writer. Not everyone enjoys writing. That’s why you have Youtube! Youtube can be a lot of work, filming yourself, editing and all that jazz. But – it is also fun and wow! YOUR FACE IS ON THE WEB. Talk about presence. I can see you right here on my screen. I can hear you talk to me! That is awesome and I definitely recommend you hit Youtube and see if it’s for you! But, be prepared for the work that comes with it!

FullSizeRender (20)

Did you find this post helpful? Let me know in the comments and thank you for reading!

IMG_2262 (1)

2 thoughts on “How To Create An Online Presence

  1. These are some great tips Claire! I completely agree about social media – it’s definitely essential, especially for bloggers. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

