Honor Has No Place In Survival // SPOILER FREE ARC REVIEW: Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

 photo CarveTheMark_Roth_EpicReads_zpsl4sdxhr7.jpgCarve the Mark
Author: Veronica Roth
Series: Untitled Duology
Genre(s): Science Fiction, Adventure
Release Date: 1/17/17
Stars:
5/5

Goodreads Description

On a planet where violence and vengeance rule, in a galaxy where some are favored by fate, everyone develops a currentgift, a unique power meant to shape the future. While most benefit from their currentgifts, Akos and Cyra do not—their gifts make them vulnerable to others’ control. Can they reclaim their gifts, their fates, and their lives, and reset the balance of power in this world?

Cyra is the sister of the brutal tyrant who rules the Shotet people. Cyra’s currentgift gives her pain and power—something her brother exploits, using her to torture his enemies. But Cyra is much more than just a blade in her brother’s hand: she is resilient, quick on her feet, and smarter than he knows.

Akos is from the peace-loving nation of Thuvhe, and his loyalty to his family is limitless. Though protected by his unusual currentgift, once Akos and his brother are captured by enemy Shotet soldiers, Akos is desperate to get his brother out alive—no matter what the cost. When Akos is thrust into Cyra’s world, the enmity between their countries and families seems insurmountable. They must decide to help each other to survive—or to destroy one another.

Allegiant came out when I was in 7th grade. That was the last book Roth published and that was a fair amount of years ago. This January, Roth brings us the first book in her newest duology, Carve the Mark. Set in a world similar to that of Star Wars with multiple planets, Carve the Mark is ready to stun the eyes of readers all over the world regardless if they liked her debut, Divergent. 

Carve the Mark is undoubtedly a unique novel coming from concepts that I myself have never read in the YA world. Though it starts off at a slow pace, unlike Divergent it is clear that Roth’s writing has grown so much. The pace is slow, yet meaningful. As I was reading I could feel the story coming together and I could feel myself getting to know the characters better.

Let’s start with Akos. Akos is definitely one of those characters that I had trouble connecting with at first. In fact, I had trouble connecting with all of the characters. Though, especially Akos because he’s a dude. It kind of makes sense there. Like I said, Akos was a questionable character at first, but as the story carried onward I must admit that he quickly became one of my favorite. Cyra on the other hand is quite the opposite of Akos and though she does carry the traits of many YA heroines, her character remains unique. There was definitely something different about her that made her feel special.

The plot of the Carve the Mark was slow. It is a long book. Not super long, but definitely a decent size and being a larger book I definitely assumed for a faster paced novel. I didn’t get a faster paced novel but Roth definitely explores the world well and creates a good balance of all the characters. We don’t see many side characters that are only on the page once. I can definitely see the relation Carve the Mark has to Star Wars. With several different planets and space ships and the “Current” and all that jazz, yet the novel definitely stays true to its story and is unlike any I’ve ever read before.

Overall, I would definitely say to read Carve the Mark even if you disliked Divergent. Carve the Mark is completely different than Divergent in every way with characters that aren’t copy cats of Tris and Four not to mention it’s like in SPACE.

FullSizeRender (20)

Are you excited for Carve the Mark? Did you enjoy the Divergent series? Let me know down below in the comments!

IMG_2262 (1)

3 thoughts on “Honor Has No Place In Survival // SPOILER FREE ARC REVIEW: Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

    1. Hmm, I’ve never heard of that. I can see how one could consider the novel to be racist, but I personally didn’t spot that in the novel. I can say that there were not many diverse roles though. There definitely could have been more diversity in the novel, but let’s be honest- all novels need more diversity. Not to belittle Carve the Mark’s lack of it though. So yes, to some extent it could be seen as problematic and racist, but I wouldn’t define it as racist. Then again, I THINK I know about what aspect of the book people are calling racist, and I don’t think that is, but it might be a different part that in forgetting about that totally is! :/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Guess it depends on the reader, then. I wasn’t very interested in this novel at first, because I loved Divergent but Insurgent and Allegiant were big disappointments. Now I’m not sure if I should give it a try :/

        Like

Leave a Reply

