ARC Review: Whichwood // Tahereh Mafi

31563982Whichwood
Tahereh Mafi
Release: November 14, 2017
Page Count: 368

A new adventure about a girl who is fated to wash the bodies of the dead in this companion to Furthermore.

Our story begins on a frosty night…

Laylee can barely remember the happier times before her beloved mother died. Before her father, driven by grief, lost his wits (and his way). Before she was left as the sole remaining mordeshoor in the village of Whichwood, destined to spend her days washing the bodies of the dead and preparing their souls for the afterlife. It’s become easy to forget and easier still to ignore the way her hands are stiffening and turning silver, just like her hair, and her own ever-increasing loneliness and fear.

But soon, a pair of familiar strangers appears, and Laylee’s world is turned upside down as she rediscovers color, magic, and the healing power of friendship.

Whichwood by Tahereh Mafi, a companion novel to Mafi’s Furthermore was absolutely breathtaking in it’s own dark morbid way. Let’s just say that even though Whichwood  was the very opposite of Furthermore it was still amazing. I loved Whichwood.

IMG_4912

  • The characters in Whichwood were truly the heart of the novel and really made up what this story truly meant. While the plot was still gorgeously written, Laylee’s character has a terrible life and she’s the definition of a pessimist. SHE CLEAN’S DEAD BODIES. I would be a pessimist too. Anyway, I found Laylee’s character to be really unique, heartbroken, sad, lonely among a variety of other things.
  • I really liked the friendship included in this novel as well the mistakes. There were so many mistakes in it! Let me clarify, Alice makes mistakes, and I really found that represented people really well because PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES and I really think that’s important. As for the friendship aspect, I felt that Mafi portrayed the idea of what true friendship is vs. the idea of wanting to help but not really wanting to help if you know what I mean.
  • The concept of this story was really unique. And dark. But mostly unique. A young girl who has to wash the bodies of the dead, rip people’s fingernails off and do many more disgusting things. As disgusting as it was, I LOVED IT!
  • One of my favorite parts of this novel was the message regarding family. Laylee has no family, people in town avoid her. She has no one. But while she doesn’t have a blood family with her, she does have her friends which I found really sweet and important: friends are family too.

IMG_4913

  • As much as I loved this book, I still felt that there were patches in this book that were slow and made the novel a little bit harder to get through.

Overall, Tahereh Mafi is such a talented writer and this book clearly proves it. I really enjoyed Whichwood. Admittedly, I enjoyed Furthermore a little bit more, mostly because Furthermore was a lot happier and fun which I very enjoyed. However, Whichwood was still an amazing companion novel and I highly recommend it to even reader who mainly read young adult.

4/5 STARS

IMG_4911

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Whichwood // Tahereh Mafi

  1. Great review! Would you say I’d have to read Furthermore to read Whichwood? Both are on my tbr, but I’m not sure if it matters which one I read first?

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! 🙂 You definitely do not need to read Furthermore first, however it is always a joy for me personally to see characters I love in spinoffs such as Whichwood. You won’t be missing out on anything if you read Whichwood first though. 🙂 Thank you for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

