ARC Review: The Epic Crush of Genie Lo // F.C. Yee

30116958The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
F.C. Yee
Release: August 8th, 2017
Page Count: 336

 

The struggle to get into a top-tier college consumes sixteen-year-old Genie Lo’s every waking thought. But when her sleepy Bay Area town comes under siege from hell-spawn straight out of Chinese folklore, her priorities are suddenly and forcefully rearranged.

Her only guide to the demonic chaos breaking out around her is Quentin Sun, a beguiling, maddening new transfer student from overseas. Quentin assures Genie she is strong enough to fight these monsters, for she unknowingly harbors an inner power that can level the very gates of Heaven.

Genie will have to dig deep within herself to summon the otherworldly strength that Quentin keeps talking about. But as she does, she finds the secret of her true nature is entwined with his, in a way she could never have imagined…

I cannot get this book out of my head. That was how amazing it was. I loved The Epic Crush of Genie Lo. Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever read a book I related to so much. I saw myself in this book and that really hit home.

IMG_4912

  • OMG. One of my favorite things about this novel was the humor. YES HUMOR IN YA. Finding good humor that actually makes me laugh in YA is so rare. Every single YA book I read is terribly dark. It’s like the characters just don’t understand what funny means, Every YA character comes from a troubled past where her touch kills, or her true love dies with her kiss or she’s got a year to live. Like how terribly dark is that? Yet here we are…Genie Lo, a hilarious main character that had me cracking up several times throughout the novel.
  • The plot was amazing. This story is one of those books that starts off with a bang. By the end of the first chapter you’re intrigued. I read this entire book in one day. It was that amazing. I haven’t done that for a book in a very long time. The entire plot of the novel was either funny, or something insane and crazy yet amazing was happening.
  • Yet another thing that I absolutely loved was the Chinese -ness I guess of the entirety of the novel. We have the cliche Chinese mom. And the grades. Ah yes, the asian need for good grades. It made me laugh how well Yee portrayed the stress and anxiety that comes with college work and getting good grades.
  • On a personal level, Genie Lo was a character that I related to so much. For one, I’m Chinese so that was one of the biggest things. But not only that, I play volleyball too. Genie’s experiences playing volleyball, I know them, it’s all very familiar to me. And finally, Genie is pretty explosive with her emotions. While I personally would never act the way she does (punching someone, etc.) I can understand her rage and annoyance at times throughout the novel.
  • Finally, I LOVED LOVED LOVED Quentin. God what a monkey boy. Seriously, Quentin’s character was hilarious and he and Genie together added so much to the story. Not to mention, that budding romance between them was spectacular. Seriously, it had me giggling into the late hours of the night.

Overall, this novel has my heart. I truly loved it and I cannot get it out of my head. This book right now has a lot of hype through the book community and that was one of the main reasons I was so hesitant to read this one. However I understand now. This book was purely amazing with the Chinese culture, the humor. All of it was mind blowing. I truly have no words for this novel because it was just that amazing. Please read it. Please make this one a New York Times Bestseller.

5/5 STARS

IMG_4911

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Epic Crush of Genie Lo // F.C. Yee

Leave a Reply

